Four Connacht Academy players named for U20 Six Nations squad

Galway Daily rugby The Sportsground to be renamed Dexcom Stadium in partnership deal
Photo: INPHO/Connacht Rugby

Four Connacht Academy players, three of them from Galway clubs, have been chosen for the Irish U20 Six Nations squad to face Wales on Friday.

In the starting XV, John Devine (Corinthians/Connacht) is in at the Inside-Centre while Hugh Gavin (Galwegians/Connacht) takes the Left Wing.

Also among the replacements for this game are Fiachna Barrett (Corinthians/Connacht) and Harry West (Buccaneers/Connacht).

Ireland’s opening game of the U20 Six Nations will take place in Colwyn Bay on Friday night, with kick-off at 7pm.

Commenting ahead of the game, Head Coach Richie Murphy said, “We are excited to get the Six Nations underway in Wales on Friday night, following a good period of preparation for the group.”

“The squad have come together well over the last couple of weeks, gelling both on and off the pitch, and we have now turned the focus this week to performance.”

The match is live on Virgin Media Two/BBC iPlayer.

Ireland U20s:

15. James Nicholson (UCD/Leinster)
14. Ike Anagu (La Rochelle/IQ Rugby)
13. Hugh Cooney (Clontarf/Leinster)
12. John Devine (Corinthians/Connacht)
11. Hugh Gavin (Galwegians/Connacht)
10. Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster)
9. Fintan Gunne (Terenure/Leinster)

1. George Hadden (Clontarf/Leinster)
2. Gus McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)(captain)
3. Paddy McCarthy (DUFC/Leinster)
4. Diarmuid Mangan (UCD/Leinster)
5. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD/Leinster)
6. James McNabney (Ballymena/Ulster)
7. Ruadhán Quinn (Old Crescent/Munster)
8. Brian Gleeson (Garryowen/Munster)


16. Danny Sheahan (UCC/Munster)
17. George Morris (Lansdowne/Leinster)
18. Fiachna Barrett (Corinthians/Connacht)
19. Evan O’Connell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
20. Jacob Sheahan (UCC/Munster)
21. Oscar Cawley (Naas/Leinster)
22. Harry West (Buccaneers/Connacht)
23. Henry McErlean (Terenure/Leinster).