RUGBY: Connacht Women’s Team for Munster Interpro Opener 

Connacht Women

The Connacht Women’s management team have named their team for Saturday’s (1st September) opening inter-provincial series tie against Munster. 

Jarleth Naughtons’ side will be captained by Grainne Egan who’s joined in the back row by Edel McMahon and Nichola Fryday.

Vice-captain Laura Feely starts in the front row alongside Ciara O’Connor and Annmarie O’Hora, and the pack is completed by Nicola Caldbeck and Amelie Roux in the second row.

The half-back partnership sees scrum-half Mary Healy play alongside fly-half Nicole Fowley, with Shannon Touhy and Catherine Martin named as centres. The back three sees wingers Orla Dixon and Rachel Healy alongside full-back Jill Draper.

Kick-off at Irish Independent Park, Cork is at 2.30pm on Saturday, the squad’s only away game of the series with ties against Leinster (Sunday 9th September) and Ulster (Saturday 15th September) to follow at The Sportsground.

1. Laura Feely (vice-captain) – Galwegians 
2. Ciara O’Connor – Galwegians 
3. Annmarie O’Hora – Castlebar / Galwegians 
4. Nicola Caldbeck – Tullow 
5. Amelie Roux – Galwegians 
6. Edel McMahon – Galwegians 
7. Grainne Egan (captain) – Railway Union 
8. Nichola Fryday – Galwegians 
9. Mary Healy – Galwegians 
10. Nicole Fowley – Galwegians 
11. Orla Dixon – NUIG 
12. Shannon Touhy – Galwegians 
13. Catherine Martin – Suttonians 
14. Rachel Healy – Railway Union 
15. Jill Draper – Tullamore 


  1. Moya Griffin – Tullamore
  2. Elizabeth McNicholas –Tuam 
  3. Julia Bauer – Suttonians
  4. Denise Redmond – Galwegians 
  5. Tara Buggie – NUIG 
  6. Shannen Lane – Galwegians 
  7. Hilary Griffin – Tullow
  8. Mairead Coyne – Galwegians