LGFA: Galway Hit The Ground Running

Galway vs Waterford LGFA

All-Ireland Senior Ladies Football Championship – Saturday, 21st July 2018 

Galway 3-12 Waterford 0-5 

Darren Kelly in Birr 

(Match Report: courtesy – ladiesgaelic.ie) 

Galway secured their TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football Championship quarter-final spot with a comfortable 16-point victory over Waterford at Birr.

First half goals from Leanne Coen, Roisin Leonard and Ailbhe Davoren ensured Stephen Glennon’s team took a final eight spot with one round robin fixture to come, while Pat Sullivan’s charges will contest the relegation play-offs.

Tracey Leonard got Galway off the mark after only 20 seconds and the Galway captain added two further frees by the eighth minute to lead 0-3 to 0-0. Galway were in control and guilty of spurning other chances with Aine McDonagh getting through but she was brought down before having a shot.

(For Rest of Match Report – Click Here) 

Galway’s next outing in the 2018 TG4 All-Ireland Senior Ladies Football Championship is on Saturday, 28th July.  Throw-in at Duggan Park, Ballinasloe is 2pm.


Galway – Tracey Leonard 0-5 (three frees), Leanne Coen 1-1, Roisin Leonard 1-0, Ailbhe Davoren 1-0, Mairead Seoighe 0-2, Sarah Conneally 0-2, Olivia Divilly 0-1, Emer Flaherty 0-1 

Waterford: Michelle Ryan 0-2, Katie Murray 0-1, Maria Delahunty 0-1 (free), Eimear Fennell 0-1 

Galway: Lisa Murphy; Fabienne Cooney, Sarah Lynch, Sinead Burke; Charlotte Cooney, Nicola Ward, Emer Flaherty; Louise Ward, Ailbhe Davoren; Olivia Divilly, Tracey Leonard, Aine McDonagh; Mairead Seoighe, Roisin Leonard, Leanne Coen.

Waterford: Kelly Moroney; Rebecca Casey, Caoimhe McGrath, Aisling Mullaney; Michelle McGrath, Megan Dunford, Kate McGrath; Emma Murray, Karen McGrath; Kate Hahessy, Katie Murray, Mairead Wall; Aileen Wall, Maria Delahunty, Michelle Ryan.

Referee: Seamus Mulvihill (Kerry)