12.4 C
Home SPORT GAA GALWAY GAA: Six Tribesmen Footballers Make Galway Daily Team 

GALWAY GAA: Six Tribesmen Footballers Make Galway Daily Team 

Voting concluded on Wednesday (19th September) for the 2018 Galway Daily Senior Football Team of the Year and followers opted to keep six Tribesmen players in their starting 15. 

Sean Kelly and Sean Andy O Ceallaigh were named in defence; Tom Flynn took a midfield position; while Damien Comer, Ian Burke and Shane Walsh took their places in the front six.

The overall breakdown was Galway (6), Dublin (5), Donegal (1), Kerry (1), Monaghan (1) and Tyrone (1).

All-Ireland champions Dublin have Jack McCaffrey and James McCarthy in defence, Brian Fenton in midfield, with Ciaran Kilkenny and Paul Mannion in attack.

Monaghan’s Rory Beggan is named in goal; Eoghan Ban Gallagher (Donegal) and Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone) play in defence; and Kerry’s David Clifford gets a starting forward slot.

Some of those unfortunate to miss out included Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Eoghan Kerin (Galway), Karl O’Connell (Monaghan) and Tiernan McCann (Tyrone).

Monaghan’s Rory Beggan and Dublin’s Brian Fenton topped the final poll with 77%, followed by McCaffrey (76%) and Walsh (57%),

As stated, we picked the positions based on the 15 players you selected which involves a couple of positional switches but this is our team.  The final poll results are available underneath.


  1. Rory Beggan (Monaghan) 
  2. Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone) 
  3. Sean Andy O Ceallaigh (Galway) 
  4. Sean Kelly (Galway) 
  5. Eoghan Ban Gallagher (Donegal) 
  6. James McCarthy (Dublin) 
  7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin) 
  8. Brian Fenton (Dublin) 
  9. Tom Flynn (Galway) 
  10. Shane Walsh (Galway) 
  11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin) 
  12. Damien Comer (Galway) 
  13. David Clifford (Kerry) 
  14. Ian Burke (Galway) 
  15. Paul Mannion (Dublin)

Final Poll Results  


RORY BEGGAN (Monaghan) – 77%, Stephen Cluxton (Dublin) – 23%


JACK McCAFFREY (Dublin) – 76%, EOGHAN BAN GALLAGHER (Donegal) – 12%, Jonny Cooper (Dublin) – 8%, Paul Murphy (Kerry) – 4%

JAMES McCARTHY (Dublin) – 56%, SEAN KELLY (Galway) – 19%, Eoghan Kerin (Galway) – 15%, Tiernan McCann (Tyrone) – 10%

SEAN ANDY O CEALLAIGH (Galway) – 50%, PADRAIG HAMPSEY (Tyrone) – 23%, Karl O’Connell (Tyrone) – 15%, Ryan Wylie (Monaghan) – 12%


BRIAN FENTON (Dublin) – 77%, TOM FLYNN (Galway) – 13%, Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone) – 7%, Niall Kearns (Monaghan) – 3%


DAMIEN COMER (Galway) – 42%, DAVID CLIFFORD (Kerry) – 42%, Con O’Callaghan (Dubin) – 10%, Conor McManus (Monaghan) – 6%

IAN BURKE (Galway) – 50%, CIARAN KILKENNY (Dublin) – 38%, Brian Howard (Dublin) – 6%, Ryan McAnespie (Monaghan) – 6%

SHANE WALSH (Galway) – 57%, PAUL MANNION (Dublin) – 29%, Dean Rock (Dublin) – 14%, Paul Broderick (Carlow) – 0%

Our new restaurants page features all of Galway’s favourite eateries –  making it oh so easy to choose when and where to eat whenever you’re craving some delicious food!

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Fresh weather warning in effect for Galway today

A new Status Yellow weather warning issued by Met Eireann is in effect in Galway today after a similar warning issued Friday was cancelled. The...

Coronavirus: 1 death and 11 new cases in Ireland

There has been one new death of a person with COVID-19 reported today, along with 11 new confirmed coronavirus cases in the Republic. There have...

Plans submitted for 62 hectare solar farm outside Tuam

Plans have been submitted to Galway County Council for the construction of a 62 hectare solar farm just outside of Tuam. The planning application, which...
Your Cart