12.4 C
Home SPORT GAA GALWAY GAA: Shane Walsh makes Sunday Game Team of the Year 

GALWAY GAA: Shane Walsh makes Sunday Game Team of the Year 

Kilkerrin/Clonberne’s Shane Walsh was the only Galway player selected on the Sunday Game’s Team of the Year when it was announced after the All-Ireland Football Final (2nd September). 

There was no surprise of Walsh’s inclusion in the half-forward line after an excellent year where his ability to deliver crucial scores was instrumental in the Tribesmen making their first All-Ireland semi-final since 2001.

However, just one name was a surprise for the Connacht champions who saw fellow losing finalists Monaghan get two slots and players like Galway Daily Footballer of the Year Ian Burke, Damien Comer and Eoghan Kerin can feel unlucky.

Not suprisingly, four-in-a-row winning champions Dublin dominated the selection that was made by analysts Sean Cavanagh, Colm Cooper, Lee Keegan, Michael Murphy, Tomas O Se and Ciaran Whelan.

Stephen Cluxton was named in goal; Jonny Cooper, James McCarthy and Jack McCaffrey in defence; Brian Fenton in midfield; along with Ciaran Kilkenny, Brian Howard and Paul Mannion up front.

Kilkenny was the unanimous pick for Footballer of the Year while McCaffery was named Man of the Match after their 2-17 to 1-14 win over Tyrone.

The Red Hands got two places after their final defeat with Padraig Hampsey at full back and Colm Cavanagh in midfield.  Karl O’Connell and Conor McManus represent Monaghan while Donegal and Kerry are also acknowledged through Eoghan Ban Gallagher and David Clifford respectively.

The Sunday Game 2018 Football Team of the Year

  1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
  2. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
  3. Pádraig Hampsey (Tyrone) 
  4. Eoghan Bán Gallagher (Donegal) 
  5. Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)
  6. James McCarthy (Dublin)
  7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin) 
  8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)
  9. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone) 
  10. Shane Walsh (Galway)
  11. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)
  12. Brian Howard (Dublin) 
  13. Paul Mannion (Dublin)
  14. Conor McManus (Monaghan) 
  15. David Clifford (Kerry) 

Our new restaurants page features all of Galway’s favourite eateries –  making it oh so easy to choose when and where to eat whenever you’re craving some delicious food!

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Coronavirus: 1 death and 11 new cases in Ireland

There has been one new death of a person with COVID-19 reported today, along with 11 new confirmed coronavirus cases in the Republic. There have...

Plans submitted for 62 hectare solar farm outside Tuam

Plans have been submitted to Galway County Council for the construction of a 62 hectare solar farm just outside of Tuam. The planning application, which...

Teaching Council strongly praises dedication of school communities

The Teaching Council has strongly commended the dedication of school communities to connect with each other and to facilitate remote learning in a wide...
Your Cart