Connacht PPS Senior B Hurling Final

Darren Kelly in Duggan Park

Portumna Community School dominated this Senior B Hurling Final on Saturday in Ballinasloe as six goals left them in firm control.

First half majors for Liam Quirke, John Fleming and Denis McLoughlin gave Mike Fallon’s team a 3-7 to 0-4 interval lead before they added another hat-trick from Oisin Sullivan, Fleming and Jack Kelly in the third quarter.

Calasanctius needed to strike early but had to settle with two consolation goals for Ryan Flanagan and Daniel McNulty as Portumna made sure of their provincial success early on.

It took just three minutes for Portumna finished a quick move striking to the net after Thomas Hegarty was denied a Calasanctius chance.

Fleming added two frees before getting the second on 12 minutes.  Goalkeeper Terence Fahy found Niall Fleming and John took a superb catch before striking past Diarmuid Hanniffy making it 2-2 to 0-1.

Sean Neary got Calasanctius’ opener and he added the second 60 seconds.  Aaron Callanan got their third point in between of two more John Fleming minors but on 19 minutes, the margin was double digits.

Niall Fleming’s delivery saw McLoughlin get an overhead touch.  It was enough to catch out Hanniffy for the third goal as they pulled 3-4 to 0-3 clear.

Portumna should have put the contest to be with three more dangerous shots but Hanniffy redeemed himself with the saves.  Isaac De Hora got Calasanctius’ fourth point but Portumna led 3-7 to 0-4 at half-time thanks to John Fleming, Colin Madden and Sullivan.

The third quarter was crucial but it was Portumna who finally put the game to bed.  Sullivan got the fourth goal from the left on 33 mins before John Fleming added the fifth four minutes later.

Neary tapped over a Calasanctius free but Portumna pushed for the line.  Niall Fleming set up Kelly for the sixth goal before Quirke made it 6-8 to 0-5 on 43 minutes.

It was only afterwards that Calasanctius got a run hitting 1-3 unanswered with Ryan Flanagan getting the goal following a one-two with Ruben Davitt.

Substitute Daniel McNulty go the second Calasanctius but Portumna were comfortable winners.

Portumna CS: Terence Fahy; Conor Larkin, Darragh Moloney, Ronan Porter; Naoise Muldoon, Sean Duffy, David Jordan; Jack O’Meara, Oisin Sullivan (1-1); Niall Fleming, John Fleming (2-6, five frees), Colin Madden (0-1); Jack Kelly (1-0), Denise McLoughlin (1-0), Liam Quirke (1-1).  Subs used: Oliver Cleary for McLoughlin (29 mins), Sean Molloy for Jordan (48 mins), Jamie Hogan for Kelly (56 mins).

Calasanctius Oranmore: Diarmuid Hanniffy; Hugh Moylan, Eoghan Geraghty, Jack Grealish; Luke Holland, Ronan Hanniffy, Rory Carberry; Ryan Flanagan (1-0), Sean Neary (0-4, three frees); Aaron Callanan (0-1), Brian McSweeney, Issac De Hora (0-4, all frees); Dean Holland, Hubert Costello, Thomas Hegarty.  Subs used: Ruben Davitt for Hegarty (HT), Brendan Commins for Carberry (HT), Daniel McNulty (1-0) for Holland (47 mins), Conor Hughes for Flanagan (56 mins).

Referee: Christopher Browne