GALWAY GAA: 2018 Galway Daily Minor Footballer Semi-Finals 


The opening round of our 2018 Galway Daily Minor Footballer of the Year competition closed last night (Monday) as the 20 contenders were whittled down to 12 players. 

Cathal Sweeney topped the poll with 77% followed by Eoghan Tinney (65%), Aidan Halloran (60%) and Paul Kelly (48%).

The top two from each group advanced to the next round along with the two best third placed players (Sean Black – 14%, Daniel Cox – 14%).

Some of those unfortunate to be eliminated included Ethan Walsh, Donie Halloran, Eanna McCormack and Liam Judge.

The semi-finalists will take part today (Tuesday) in four groups containing three players each.  The winners from each group will qualify for Wednesday’s final.

Any ties will be decided by our adjudication panel.  All you need to do is log into (and like) our twitter page and like your favourite player in each section each day.  It’s that simple.  Each poll will last for 15 hours.


Round 1 Results  

AIDAN HALLORAN – 60%, SEAN HORKAN – 18%, SEAN BLACK – 14%, Donie Halloran – 8%

OISIN McCORMACK – 44%, MATTHEW COOLEY – 40%, Ethan Walsh – 12%, Liam Judge – 4%

Oisin McCormack

PAUL KELLY – 48%, RYAN MONAHAN – 31%, DANIEL COX – 14%, Eanna McCormack – 7%

EOGHAN TINNEY – 65%, CONOR RAFTERY – 29%, Cian Deane – 3%, Conor Halbard – 3%

CATHAL SWEENEY – 77%, TONY GILL – 19%, Oisin Gormley – 3%, James McLoughlin – 1%


The posts below will show the semi-final draw and we will have winners each day along with the overall results on Thursday (6th September).  Best of luck to all players!