GAA: County Final Staying in Pearse Stadium 

Galway Daily sport Senior Football Final & Senior Hurling Quarter-Finals - All you need to know

The Claregalway Hotel County Senior Football Final will remain in Pearse Stadium on Sunday (21st October) and will form a double header with the intermediate final replay between Micheal Breathnach and An Spideal. 

Tuam-based Cllr Donagh Killilea wrote a letter to the county board requesting that the Frank Fox Cup decider between Corofin and Mountbellew-Moylough be played in its traditional home given the two clubs’ close proximity to Tuam.

“Further to the results in the two semi-final club games today,” wrote Killilea to Galway GAA.  “Could I request that you consider having the club final between Mountbellew/Moyluogh and Corofin played at Tuam Stadium and not hold it in Pearse Stadium.

“Given that it is a bank holiday weekend and these two teams involved are local to Tuam, it would be of great appeal to locals travelling.  Also, the races are on in Galway and we should not add to the traffic woes that are expected.”

Cllr Killilea also made an appeal that the gate money from a Tuam county final could be donated to the DAFTS (Development Advocates for Tuam Stadium) who are raising funds for the future development of Tuam Stadium.

“Also,” added Killilea.  “As Tuam is making great progress, the gate fees would be welcome towards the development of the Tuam stadium.”

Killilea also appeared on the Keith Finnegan Show on Galway Bay FM on Monday morning (22nd October).  Later, Galway GAA chairman Pat Kearney ruled out any change of venue for the county’s senior final.

“The facilities in Pearse Stadium are superior to those in Tuam at the present time and for the county final,” stated Kearney to Keith Finnegan.  “We need to have the best facilities available for the players and spectators alike. The dressing rooms in Tuam are not up to standard.”

Corofin and Mountbellew/Moylough qualified for the decider after respective wins over Annaghdown and Salthill/Knocknacarra in Tuam on Sunday (21st October).

Mountbellew/Moylough reached a third final in four years after beating Salthill/Knocknacarra 1-13 to 1-10 thanks to Colin Ryan’s first minute goal, and 10 points between Barry McHugh and Michael Daly.

However, if Mountbellew/Moylough are to win a first Frank Fox Cup since 1986, they must get past All-Ireland champions Corofin who are chasing a sixth successive domestic title.

Despite having Ronan Steede sent off, Corofin prevailed by 0-12 to 0-8 over Annaghdown with Dylan Wall, Steede and Gary Sice on the scoreboard.

An Spideal and Micheal Breathnach met in Pearse Stadium on Saturday (20th October) and played out an 0-11 draw and the replay will be the curtain raiser to the senior decider.


Claregalway Hotel Senior Football Semi-Finals 

Mountbellew/Moylough 1-13 Salthill/Knocknacarra 1-10 

Corofin 0-12 Annaghdown 0-8 

Claregalway Hotel Intermediate Football Final 

Micheal Breathnach 0-11 An Spideal 0-11 



Sunday, 28th October 2018 

Claregalway Hotel Senior Football Final 

Corofin vs Mountbellew/Moylough (3pm Pearse Stadium) 

Claregalway Hotel Intermediate Football Final Replay 

Micheal Breathnach vs An Spideal (1pm Pearse Stadium)