COVID-19: One country added to list of designated states, and two removed

Galway Daily news 23 countries dropped from designated states list

One country has been added to the list of designated states for mandatory quarantine, and two have been removed.

Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly announced on Saturday that the island nation of Fiji has been added to the list of designated states.

At the same time, the Seychelles and Indonesia have been taken off the list by the Minister.

Anyone arriving in Ireland from a designated state, or having transitioned through there, must enter mandatory hotel quarantine if they do not have proof of vaccination or recent recovery from COVID-19.

You also have to have proof of vaccination or recovery, or present evidence of a negative RT-PCR result from a test taken within 72 hours prior if you are coming to Ireland.

People who can show proof that they have been vaccinated must still self-quarantine at home for at least five days.

If you receive a negative result from a RT-PCR test taken from day five onwards after arrival into Ireland, you will be able to leave quarantine.

People who have to go into hotel quarantine will be able to leave if they get a negative test result from day ten onwards.

The full list of designated states worldwide can be found online here.