Terry O’Flaherty and Alan Cheevers elected to Galway City East

Galway Daily news Two more seats filled in Galway city east

Two more seats have been filled in Galway City East this afternoon with councillor Terry O’Flaherty retaining her seat and first timer Alan Cheevers taking the third.

Independent councillor Terry O’Flaherty was elected with 1,071 votes on the Eight Count of ballots from the city east district.

Alan Cheevers is a first time candidate for Fianna Fáil. He made it over the line on the Tenth Count with 1,079 votes.

They mark four people elected to Galway city council so far after Mike Cubbard in Galway city Central and Declan McDonnell in the city east on the first counts.

Nine counts in, X candidates have so far been excluded from the east district as the returning officer has removed Pat Hardiman (Ind), Nuala Nolan (Aontu), Michael Tully (Ind), Liam Boyle (Lab), Conor Burke (S-PBP), Donal Lynch (FG), Neil O’Mahony (Renua), and Claire Hillery (GP) to redistribute their votes.

There are still three seats up for grabs in Galway City East with Michael Crowe (FF) and Noel Larkin (Ind) closing in on two of them.

The last seat is still a close contest with Sinn Féin and Fine Gael both fighting to hold onto a councillor in the district.

Máiread Farrell (SF) currently has a slight lead at 659 votes over John Walsh (FG) who is trailing with 603.

The last other candidate still in the running is Owen Hanley (SD). He will need to take a significant chunk of transfers from Claire Hillery to avoid being knocked out in the next count.