6.5 C
Home NEWS Roscommon-Galway: Michael Fitzmaurice re-elected handily

Roscommon-Galway: Michael Fitzmaurice re-elected handily

Independent Michael Fitzmaurice is the first TD elected in Galway, passing the quota on the 1st count in Roscommon-Galway.

The 1st count results gave Michael Fitzmaurice 13,077 votes, leaving him with more than 1,500 votes over the quota of 11,404.

In second place is his fellow Independent Denis Naughten who also stands likely to be returned to his seat with 8,422 first preference votes.

Sinn Féin are look to be in a strong position to return a TD in all three Galway constituencies tonight, with Ciara Kerrane doing very well at 8,003 here.

If these results bear out Roscommon-Galway could make history by not returning a candidate from either Fine Gael or Fianna Fáil.

The rest of the competition is trailing by a significant margin in this three seat constituency, with Fine Gael’s Aisling Dolan behind at 5,466 first preferences.

Fianna Fáil’s Eugene Murphy would need to pull off an astonishing turnaround to hold onto his seat after only receiving 4,945 votes in the first round.

Michael Fitzmaurice’s excess 1,673 votes will now be redistributed before the counting goes on to eliminate candidates.

Briain Kelly
Email: news@galwaydaily.com
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Nine Galway players nominated as PwC football and hurling All-Stars

Nine Galway players have made the cut as nominees for the 2020 PwC Hurling and Football All-Stars announced this week.Seven Galway GAA hurling players...

COVID-19: Slight decline in number of ICU patients in Galway

The number of people in hospital with COVID-19 in Galway has increased slightly according to the latest figures, but ICU figures show improvement.There were...

Easing of driving licence application and renewal for over 70s extended

The exemption for over 70s from presenting a medical report when applying for or renewing a driving licence has been extended due to the...