15.6 C
Home NEWS Mike Cubbard elected as Mayor of Galway

Mike Cubbard elected as Mayor of Galway

Independent city councillor Mike Cubbard has been elected as the new Mayor of Galway.

The city central councillor was chosen as Mayor at a special meeting of the new city council this afternoon.

He was chosen by the new “rainbow coalition” that has made a pact to lead the new city council.

Cllr Cubbard was chosen as Mayor by six independent cllrs, the two Green Part councillors Martina O’Connor and Pauline O’Reilly, Owen Hanley of the Social Democrats, and Niall McNelis of Labour.

In accepting the position cllr Cubbard said that he looks forward to conducting city council meetings in an open and fair manner.

Mike Cubbard said that there were many issues for the new council to address including Galway’s transport and housing issues, mental health, the environment and making sure that Galwy 2020 is “an event like none other seen in Galway”.

The only other candidate nominated for the position was Fianna Fáil councillor Peter Keane.

Councillor Keane was backed by the five Fianna Fáil and three Fine Gael councillors.

Peter Keane wished Mayor Cubbard well in his new office, adding that his time as chair of the Joint Policing Committee gave him the necessary experience for the job.

Councillor Donal Lyons was chose to return to the position of Deputy Mayor at the same meeting.

Briain Kelly
Email: news@galwaydaily.com
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Man in his 60s killed in Moylough house fire

A man in his 60s has died following a house fire in Moylough in the early hours of this morning. Fire services and Gardaí were...

Galway’s vegetarian Lighthouse Café opens new location

Plant based power has come to Terryland as Galway's vegetarian café The Lighthouse has opened a second branch for delicious green food. Having first opened...

Pride Inside – Galway is showing its pride online

Covid-19 has created difficulties for many of the community groups that fill our calender and country with year round events. In recent decades, summer...
Your Cart