Galway Racecourse to be used as vaccination centre

Galway Daily news Galway Races won't be open to the public, if they take place at all

Galway Racecourse in Ballybrit will be used as the county’s only vaccination centre, the government has confirmed this afternoon.

A total of 37 vaccination sites were announced across the state, with at least one in every county to be used for the rollout of Covid-19 vaccines to the general population.

The confirmation comes as the country enters the third phase in the vaccine rollout programme.

GPs have started receiving vaccines today to be administered to people over the age of 85. Over 80,000 people will receive the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine over the next seven days.

GP surgeries which have over 200 patients aged 70 and above will vaccinate people within the medical centre itself, while for practices with fewer than 200 people over 70 years, the vaccines will be given at GP-led Vaccination Centres.

List of vaccination centres in the Republic

County Site Name Site Address
Carlow The Seven Oaks Hotel Athy Road, Carlow
Cavan Kilmore Hotel Dublin Rd, Killygarry, Cavan
Clare West County Hotel Limerick Road, Ennis, Co Clare
Cork Páirc Uí Chaoimh The Marina, Cork City
Cork City Hall Cork City Hall, Anglesea St. Centre, Cork City
Cork MTU Campus Melbourn Building Melbourn Rd, Bishopstown, Cork
Cork Bantry PCC Bantry, Co Cork
Cork Mallow GAA Club Mallow GAA Club, Carrigoon, Co Cork
Donegal Letterkenny Institute of Technology Port Road, Letterkenny, Co Donegal
Dublin Aviva Stadium Lansdowne Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4
Dublin Citywest Convention Centre Citywest Hotel, Garters Lane, Saggart, Co Dublin
Dublin Helix Theatre DCU DCU Santry
Dublin TU Dublin Campus Grangegorman
Galway Galway Racecourse Galway Racecourse, Ballybrit, Galway
Kerry Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre Bypass Road, Killarney, Co Kerry
Kerry Kerry Sports Academy North Campus, Dromtacker, Tralee, Co Kerry
Kildare Punchestown Racecourse Punchestown, Naas, Co Kildare
Kilkenny Cillin Hill Conference Centre Dublin Road, Leggettsrath, Kilkenny
Laois Midlands Park Hotel Jessop St., Portlaoise, Co Laois
Leitrim Primary Care Centre Carrick-on-Shannon, Co Leitrim
Limerick Radisson Hotel Ennis Road, Limerick
Longford* Longford Slashers GAA Longford Town
Louth Fairways Hotel Dublin Rd, Haggardstown, Dundalk, Co Louth
Mayo Breaffy House Resort Breaffy, Castlebar, Co Mayo
Meath Simmonstown GAA Club Navan Simmonstown Gales GAA Co Meath
Monaghan Hillgrove Hotel Old Armagh Rd, Latlorcan, Monaghan
Offaly* Faithful Field GAA Centre Kilcormac, Tullamore, Co Offaly
Roscommon Abbey Hotel Galway Road, Co Roscommon
Sligo Sligo IT Sports Arena Sligo IT, Ash Ln, Bellanode, Co Sligo
Tipperary Abbeycourt Hotel Nenagh, Co Tipperary
Tipperary The Clonmel Park Hotel Poppyfields, Cahir Road, Clonmel, Co Tipperary
Waterford WIT Arena WIT Sports Campus,Carriagnore, Waterford
Westmeath International Arena AIT Dublin Road, Athlone, Co Westmeath
Westmeath Bloomfield House Hotel Mullingar, Co Westmeath
Wexford Riverside Hotel Enniscorthy The Promenade, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford
Wicklow Arklow Bay Hotel and Conference Centre Sea Rd, Ferrybank, Arklow, Co Wicklow
Wicklow Charlsland Golf Club Greystones, Co Wicklow