Fianna Fáil takes the lion’s share in Connemara

Galway daily news Review promised of Galway County Council funding

The big parties had a good evening in Connemara as Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael swept two thirds of county council seats across the North and South districts.

There were four county council seats up for grabs in Connemara North, and another five open in Connemara South.

Fianna Fáil were the clear winners, taking two seats in each district, while Fine Gael managed to hold onto one in each.

Sinn Féin lost their only representative in Connemara with Tom Healy failing to hold onto his seat and the Green Party scored their first ever position on Galway county council.

Connemara North was the first district in Ireland to start reporting in with Independent Thomas Welby the first councillor in Ireland to get the good news that he was keeping his seat.

He was joined by Eileen Mannion (FG) on the second count, first time candidate Gerry King (FF) on the second, and Seamus Walsh (FF) on the fifth and final count.

Connemara South saw the election of two councillors from Fianna Fáil, one from Fine Gael, one from the Green Party, and one Republican Sinn Féin.

Padraig Mac An Iomaire (FG) was the first elected on the third count, with all four remaining seats in the district filled on the fourth and final count.

Sitting councillors Noel Thomas (FF) and Tomás Ó Curraoin (RSF) were both returned to their seats.

The last two places in Connemara South were filled by the newcomers Alastair McKinstry, the first ever Green Party member of the county council, and Dáithí Ó Cualáin of Fianna Fáíl.