11 Galway schools to receive funding for better walking and cycling routes

Galway Daily news Walking & Cycling takes 29,000 cars of Galway's roads each day

Eleven schools in Galway have been selected in first round of the Safe Routes to School (SRTS) Programme which will improve walking and cycling routes to primary and secondary schools.

The improvements will range from better footpaths and new cycle lanes to a complete reworking of the road outside a school’s entrance.

Cycle and scooter parking will be provided to most schools that are part of the programme.

In the city, Galway Educate Together NS, Scoil Chaitríona Junior, Scoil Iognaid and St. Joseph’s Special School are to receive funding through the programme.

In Galway County, the selected schools are: Athenry Boys National School; Calasanctius College, Oranmore; Gaelscoil de hÍde Ard na Mara, Oranmore; Scoil Bhaile Nua in Moycullen; Scoil Chroí Naofa Athenry; Scoil Iósaif Naofa, Oramore; and St. Paul’s Secondary School in Oughterard.

Minister of State and Galway West TD Hildegarde Naughton said that the level of interest in this scheme has been really positive.

While we’re not in a position to fund projects for each of the 931 schools in 2021, a provisional multi-annual programme has been created which can allow for a rolling programme to facilitate all schools that applied,” said Minister Naughton.

“This means that when work is completed at one school, a new school from the list can be added to the programme.

“In other words our plan is that all schools that have applied will, over time, receive investment.

“We want this to be the first year of a rolling fund that will continue well into the future so that we can get around to everybody.”