24 June 2018; Galway captain Tracey Leonard lifts the trophy following her side's victory during the TG4 Connacht Ladies Senior Football Final match between Mayo and Galway at Elvery’s MacHale Park in Castlebar, Mayo. Photo by Seb Daly/Sportsfile

Connacht Senior Ladies Football Final – Sunday, 24th June 2018   

Galway 0-17 Mayo 1-12 

Darren Kelly in Castlebar 

(Courtesy: Connacht LGFA)

In a game that lived up to its theatrical billing beforehand, Connacht’s senior counties delivered an epic joust before Galway prevailed to successfully retain the CBE Cup.

When Sinead Cafferky finally got Mayo on level terms with four minutes remaining, a rematch in seven days looked set as the sides were deadlocked at 1-12 to 0-15.

Fiona Doherty’s 49th minute goal brought Peter Leahy’s charges back in contention having trailed following an early Galway blitz.  But the Tribeswomen got the critical late points to ensure they maintained their title thanks to Tracey Leonard and Mairead Seoighe.

See the Connacht LGFA’s full match report in full HERE


Galway – Tracey Leonard 0-6 (two frees), Roisin Leonard 0-3 (one free), Mairead Seoighe 0-3, Nicola Ward 0-1, Olivia Divilly 0-1, Aine McDonagh 0-1, Emer Flaherty 0-1, Sarah Conneally 0-1

Mayo – Cora Staunton 0-6 (four frees), Fiona Doherty 1-0, Grace Kelly 0-2 (one free), Sinead Cafferky 0-2, Niamh Kelly 0-2 

Galway: Lisa Murphy; Fabienne Cooney, Sarah Lynch, Sinead Burke; Emer Flaherty, Nicola Ward, Charlotte Cooney; Caitriona Cormican, Aine McDonagh; Olivia Divilly, Tracey Leonard, Ailbhe Davoren; Mairead Seoighe, Roisin Leonard, Leanne Coen.  Subs used: Sarah Conneally for Coen (38 mins), Noelle Connolly for Lynch (38 mins), Louise Ward for R. Leonard (52 mins), Deirdre Brennan for Davoren (56 mins).

Mayo: Aisling Tarpey; Emma Lowther, Sarah Tierney, Kathryn Sullivan; Rachel Kearns, Danielle Caldwell, Doireann Hughes; Fiona McHale, Clodagh McManamon; Niamh Kelly, Fiona Doherty, Sinead Cafferky; Grace Kelly, Sarah Rowe, Cora Staunton.  Subs used: Orla Conlon for McManamon (53 mins), Marie Corbett for Hughes (54 mins), Shauna Howley for G. Kelly (57 mins).

Referee: Gerry Carmody (Roscommon)