Two changes to Connacht lineup for Dragons clash in Wales

Galway Daily sport Connacht squad named for Edinburgh trip
photo credit: ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Two changes have been made to Connacht’s starting XV for this weekend’s URC away games against the Dragons in Wales.

Connacht Rugby and Dragons RFC will meet at Rodney Parade in Newport, Wales this Saturday, with kick-off at 19:35 Irish Time.

Shayne Bolton on the wing and Paul Boyle in the back row are the only changes from the side that secured a bonus point win away in Parma to Zebre the last time out.

Among the replacements, there’s a chance for Shane Jennings to get his first ever cap for Connacht.

Back among the starting lineup, Boyle is in at Number 8, with Cian Prendergast at blindside flanker and Conor Oliver at openside.

Bolton is in the back three along with Tiernan O’Halloran at full back and John Porch on the left wing.

In the centre of the field are Tom Farrell, Cathal Forde, and Caolin Blade, along with Jack Carty back as Captain.

Josh Murphy and Niall Murray make up the second row, while Denis Buckley, Dylan Tierney-Martin, and Jack Aungier are up front.

Commenting on the team selection, Director of Rugby Andy Friend says, “We’re very aware of the significance of this game for our season and we’re looking forward to the challenge that awaits us.”

“Dragons away is always a tough fixture and our preparation has been good, so we head to Rodney Parade knowing that we’re capable of putting them under pressure with our game style. It’s now about doing it”


Saturday 4th March, 19:35 Irish time @Rodney Parade


15. Tiernan O’Halloran (219)
14. Shayne Bolton (4)
13. Tom Farrell (94)
12. Cathal Forde (9)
11. John Porch (74)
10. Jack Carty (194) (C)
9. Caolin Blade (168)
1. Denis Buckley (225)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (17)
3. Jack Aungier (45)
4. Josh Murphy (13)
5. Niall Murray (50)
6. Cian Prendergast (40)
7. Conor Oliver (57)
8. Paul Boyle (83)

16. Dave Heffernan (177)
17. Peter Dooley (13)
18. Sam Illo (8)
19. Oisin Dowling (37)
20. Jarrad Butler (109)
21. Colm Reilly (17)
22. David Hawkshaw (11)
23. Shane Jennings *