Connacht squad named for Falcon’s fixture

Galway Daily rugby The Sportsground to be renamed Dexcom Stadium in partnership deal
Photo: INPHO/Connacht Rugby

The Connacht Squad has been named for this evening’s game against Newcastle, with Adam Byrne starting for the first time.

Connacht will face the Falcon’s at the Sportsground in the EPCR Challenge Cup on Saturday, with kick-off at 5:30pm.

Adam Byrne is handed his first Connacht start on the wing, in a back three that also contains Diarmuid Kilgallen and full-back Tiernan O’Halloran.

There’s a new-look centre pairing of Cathal Forde and Tom Daly, while David Hawkshaw is handed a start at out-half with Caolin Blade for company to complete the backs.

There’s a new front row of Peter Dooley, Dylan Tierney-Martin and Jack Aungier, while Josh Murphy and Niall Murray are paired together in the second row. Paul Boyle keeps his place at number 8 after his Player of the Match performance against Benetton, with captain Jarrad Butler and Shamus Hurley-Langton named on the flanks.

On the bench there’s a potential debut for Ballinasloe flanker Oisín McCormack, who has come through the ranks with Garbally College, Ballinsloe RFC and Buccaneers RFC

Commenting on the team selection, Director of Rugby Andy Friend said, “Challenge Cup rugby is a different challenge but one we’re really looking forward to.”

“We’ve been clear from the start that we’ll be using these games to give some players a chance to impress, so this is a great opportunity to test our increasing depth across the squad.”

Our target is to reach the knockout stages and see what happens from there. As is always the case in Europe it’s vital you win your home games so with the crowd behind us on Saturday we hope to get another win and keep building momentum.”

Saturday 10th December, 17:30 @ The Sportsground

15. Tiernan O’Halloran (210)
14. Adam Byrne (1)
13. Tom Daly (66)
12. Cathal Forde (3)
11. Diarmuid Kilgallen (9)
10. David Hawkshaw (7)
9. Caolin Blade (156)
1. Peter Dooley (7)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (11)
3. Jack Aungier (40)
4. Josh Murphy (6)
5. Niall Murray (42)
6. Jarrad Butler (102) (C)
7. Shamus Hurley-Langton (6)
8. Paul Boyle (81)

16. Shane Delahunt (118)
17. Denis Buckley (217)
18. Sam Illo (4)
19. Leva Fifita (18)
20. Oisín McCormack *
21. Colm Reilly (13)
22. Conor Fitzgerald (58)
23. Tom Farrell (85)