GALWAY LGFA: Kilkerrin/Clonberne Secure Super Six

Kilkerrin/Clonberne LGFA
The County Senior Champions Back row: Leah Pettit, Claire Dunleavy, Caoimhe Boyle, Lisa Gannon, Ailbhe Mahoney, Sarah Gormally, Lisa Murphy, Louise Ward, Siobhan Divilly, Siobhan Fahy, Maeve Flanagan, Lynsey Noone, Maria Gormally, Ailish Morrissey, Emma Flanagan, Deirdre Bracken, Annette Clarke. Front row: Annie Miskell, Katelyn Mee, Hannah Noone, Karen Finnegan, Chloe Costello, Olivia Divilly, Eva Noone, Aisling Costello, Caitlin Boyle, Evelyn Flanagan, Samantha Fahy, Sarah Ward.

County Senior Ladies Football Final – Saturday, 6th October 2018 

Kilkerrin/Clonberne 7-16 Corofin 3-6 

Darren Kelly in Moycullen 

Kilkerrin/Clonberne left no doubts about who stood tallest in Galway Ladies Football as they secured their sixth successive senior title with this ruthless demolition of their closest rivals.  Only two points split these teams in 2017 but by the quarter hour, Kevin Reidy’s team held a double-digit margin.

Before 80 seconds had elapsed, Olivia Divilly struck the first goal.  And 60 seconds later, Ailish Morrissey’s low strike was finished off by Lynsey Noone and it was 2-0 to 0-0.  Corofin were rattled!

Leanne Coen opened Corofin’s account on eight minutes but Kilkerrin/Clonberne went 2-5 to 0-1 ahead through Divilly, Siobhan Fahy, Eva and Lynsey Noone.  In fairness to Corofin, they played themselves back into the tie.  On 18 minutes, Aoife Coen and Amy O’Donovan set up Leanne Coen and she found the net.

Divilly replied but Corofin counter attacked and were unlucky as Leanne Coen got in again but the ball managed to hit the crossbar.  By the 24th minute, Kilkerrin/Clonberne punished the miss as Lynsey Noone shot past Dearbhla Gower into the top corner.

This game was getting away from Corofin but Leonard pointed.  However, Divilly’s shot from distance finished underneath the crossbar.  Tracey Leonard tallied but a Divilly free gave Kilkerrin/Clonberne a 4-7 to 1-3 interval lead.  And they commenced the second period in equally ruthless fashion.

Maeve Flanagan found the net before Eva Noone finished off the sixth goal within two minutes.  It cut Corofin to the core though they scored two goals from Roisin Leonard.  But they still trailed 6-9 to 3- on the three-quarter mark and saw captain Lisa Leonard sinbinned.

Eva Noone got the seventh goal on 51 minutes before two Divilly frees and Hannah Noone concluded Kilkerrin/Clonberne’s account.  Laura McTigue’s placed ball finished Corofin’s contribution.

Scorers – Kilkerrin/Clonberne: Olivia Divilly 2-9 (five frees), Lynsey Noone 2-1, Eva Noone 2-1, Maeve Flanagan 1-0, Siobhan Fahy 0-1, Annette Clarke 0-1, Ailish Morrissey 0-1, Hannah Noone 0-1, Caoimhe Boyle 0-1. 

Scorers – Corofin: Roisin Leonard 2-2 (1-0 penalty), Leanne Coen 1-1, Tracey Leonard 0-2 (one free), Laura McTigue 0-1 (free).

Kilkerrin/Clonberne: Lisa Murphy; Aisling Walsh, Sarah Gormally, Chloe Costello; Siobhan Fahy, Lisa Gannon, Hannah Noone; Siobhan Divilly, Louise Ward; Lynsey Noone, Maeve Flanagan, Olivia Divily; Eva Noone, Annette Clarke, Ailish Morrissey.

Subs used: Caoimhe Boyle for Flanagan (45 mins), Emma Flanagan for Fahy (52 mins), Claire Dunleavy for L. Noone (53 mins), Leah Petit for Costello (56 mins).

Corofin: Dearbhla Gower; Louise Coen, Emer Leonard, Amy Coen; Katie Quigley, Mary Newell, Eva Higgins; Lisa Leonard, Leanne Coen; Tracey Leonard, Aoife Coen, Orla Newell; Amy O’Donovan, Roisin Leonard, Chloe Langan.

Subs used: Aoife Newell for Higgins (10 mins), Hannah McHugh for M. Newell (16 mins), Larua McTigue for O’Donovan (53 mins), Louise Reilly for Quigley (56 mins).

Player of the Match: Olivia Divilly (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)

Referee: Frank Kineen

Kilkerrin/Clonberne will meet Roscommon’s Kilbride in the 2018 Connacht Senior Ladies Football Semi-Final.  The game is provisionally scheduled for the weekend of October 20th/21st.