GOLF: Six Galway Golfers Get Ready for Irish Championships 

Jamie Fletcher
Jamie Fletcher (Warrenpoint) bunkered at the 16th green during day five of the AIG 2017 Irish Amateur Close Championship at Galway Golf Club today (26/08/2017). Picture by Pat Cashman

Six Galway golfers will compete in the 2018 AIG Irish Amateur Close Championship which commences on the August Bank Holiday weekend at the European Club in Co. Wicklow. 

Official practice for the competition will take place on Friday, 3rd August before 146 competitors compete in two rounds of stroke play qualifying.

The course is a Par 70 with four short par-3 holes and two long par-5 runs to the tee.

Sixty-four players will advance to the match day format beginning on Monday, 6th August beginning at 7am with two rounds each day culminating with the final on Wednesday afternoon (8th August) at approximately 1pm.

Galway Golf Club hosted the 2017 edition and Warrenpoint’s Jamie Fletcher is the defending champion for this year’s race while six Galway golfers will attempt to emulate that feat when competition begins at 8am on Saturday (4th August) morning.

Galway Bay’s Michael Sheil will begin his quest for success when he tees off at 8.20am and will be partnered by AJ Crinion (Newlands) and Derek Rochford from Bray.

Ten minutes later, Jack Tuohy from Galway Bay will commence his campaign when he starts at 8.30am alongside Shane Irwin (Killeen) and Sean Walsh (Carton House).

At 9.15am, Mikey Burke is out on the course for Galway Golf Club and he’ll join Eoin O’Brien (Clontarf) and Darragh Flynn (Carton House).

And the last of the Tribal morning starters is Michael Joseph Kennelly from Galway who begins at 9.55am with Gareth Carr (Mullingar) and Ruairi O’Connor (Co. Sligo).

In the afternoon, Joe Lyons (Galway Golf Club) will be in action when he starts at 2.10pm alongside William Russell (Clandeboye) and Ross Dutton (Tandragee).

And finally, Ronan Mullarney (Galway Golf Club) will commence at 2.30pm when he takes to the first tee with Eoin Leonard (Wentworth) and Dominic Pollock (Belvoir Park).

On Sunday (5th August), all six will be out again in the same groups before their accumulated scores will see if they reach the match play format.

Lyons (9.25am) and Mullarney (9.45am) will begin in the morning before Sheil (1.05pm), Tuohy (1.15pm), Burke (1.55pm) and Kennelly (2.35pm) in the afternoon.

It is possible Galway could have a seventh entrant as Michael O’Farrell is among the list of 38 reserves should sufficient withdrawals occur to give him the chance.

Saturday and Sunday (4th/5th August Tee-Times) – 18 holes each day

Michael Shiel (8.20am Saturday, 1.05pm Sunday)

Jack Tuohy – Galway Bay (8.30am Saturday, 1.15pm Sunday)

Mikey Burke – Galway (9.15am Saturday, 1.55pm Sunday)

Michael Joseph Kennelly – Galway Bay (9.55am Saturday, 2.35pm Sunday)

Joe Lyons – Galway (2.10pm Saturday, 9.25am Sunday)

Ronan Mullarney – Galway (2.30pm Saturday, 9.45am Sunday)


Monday 6th August 2018

Last 64 Matchplay starts 7am (18 holes)

Last 32 Matchplay starts 12pm (18 holes)

Tuesday 7th August 2018

Last 16 Matchplay starts 8am (18 holes)

Quarter-Finals Matchplay starts 1pm (18 holes)

Wednesday 8th August 2018

Semi-Finals Matchplay starts 8am (18 holes)

FINAL starts 1pm (18 holes)