19.1 C


The Lidl Teams of the 2018 Ladies National Football League have been revealed by the Ladies Football Association and Galway have two representatives. 

Sinead Burke was named at left wing forward while captain Tracey Leonard took her place at centre forward.

Both players were picked recently on the Galway Daily All-Stars first round of nominations though Burke was picked at corner back.  Dublin pair Ciara Trant and Nicole Owens are also included from the Galway Daily All-Stars along with Cavan’s Aishling Sheridan in Division Two.

Mayo’s league final appearance has earned them four places, one more than Dublin.  Captain Sarah Tierney is at full back, Aileen Gilroy is in midfield and the Kelly sisters (Niamh and Grace) occupy the corner forward slots.

The players on each of the four divisional selections were nominated by opposition managers after each round of fixtures, and the players who received the most nominations have been included.

The Division One team contains players from no fewer than six counties, with newly-crowned champions Dublin, runners-up Mayo, Westmeath, Donegal, Galway and Monaghan all represented.

In total, there are three survivors from the 2017 selection – Burke, Karen Guthrie and Yvonne McMonagle.

Dublin’s three players are Trant, Martha Byrne and Owens, who scored a last-gasp goal against Galway in the semi-finals to book a place for the Sky Blues in the Parnell Park decider.  Donegal also have three as Guthrie and Bonner are joined by Ciara Hegarty.

Westmeath defenders Jennifer Rogers and Fiona Coyle are both included and Galway there’s also a slot on the team for Monaghan’s Muireann Atkinson, who’s named at midfield.

The players will receive their awards at Croke Park on Friday, May 25th.  The Lidl Manager of the Month for May will also be revealed on the night, as well as the overall Lidl Manager of the League.

Division 1 Lidl NFL Team of the League: Ciara Trant (Dublin); Martha Byrne (Dublin), Sarah Tierney (Mayo), Jennifer Rogers (Westmeath); Fiona Coyle (Westmeath), Ciara Hegarty (Donegal), Sinéad Burke (Galway); Aileen Gilroy (Mayo), Muireann Atkinson (Monaghan); Karen Guthrie (Donegal), Tracey Leonard (Galway), Nicole Owens (Dublin); Niamh Kelly (Mayo), Yvonne McMonagle (Donegal), Grace Kelly (Mayo) 

Division 2 Lidl NFL Team of the League: Evelyn Baugh (Cavan); Sarah Marley (Armagh), Maria Curley (Tipperary), Michelle McGrath (Waterford); Sinéad Greene (Cavan), Samantha Lambert (Tipperary), Caoimhe Condon (Tipperary); Jennifer Grant (Tipperary), Emma Jane Gervin (Tyrone); Aoife McCoy (Armagh), Aisling Maguire (Cavan), Aishling Sheridan (Cavan); Aimee Mackin (Armagh), Aishling Moloney (Tipperary), Katie Walsh (Sligo)

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Coronavirus: 4 deaths and 98 new COVID-19 cases

There have been 4 additional deaths related to COVID-19 and 98 new confirmed cases reported by the Department of Health today. The number of confirmed...

Athenry Walled Town Day set to go virtual for first time

Now in its 14th year, Athenry Walled Town Day is set to go virtual for the first time due to Covid-19. The theme of this...

Galway mother of 4 sick children pleads for respite after death of her husband

A Galway mother of four sick children has pleaded for help after her husband died suddenly less than two months ago. Aine Crosse, who lives...
Your Cart