7.9 C
Home SPORT GAA GALWAY GAA: Seven Hurlers Make Galway Daily Team 

GALWAY GAA: Seven Hurlers Make Galway Daily Team

Voting concluded on Wednesday (12th September) for the 2018 Galway Daily Senior Hurling Team of the Year and followers opted to keep seven Tribesmen players in their starting 15. 

Padraic Mannion, Daithi Burke, Aidan Harte and Gearoid McInerney were named in the defence; David Burke took a midfield position; while Joe Canning and Conor Whelan took their places in the front six.

The overall breakdown was Galway (7), Limerick (5), Clare (2) and Kilkenny (1).

The All-Ireland champions have Declan Hannon and Sean Finn in defence, Cian Lynch in midfield, with Aaron Gillane and Kyle Hayes in attack.

Clare also have two attackers named Peter Duggan and John Conlon named.  And Kilkenny’s Eoin Murphy took the goalkeeping slot.

Some of those unfortunate to miss out included James Skehill (Galway), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork), Jonathan Glynn (Galway) and Joseph Cooney (Galway).

Ahascragh/Fohenagh’s Padraic Mannion topped the final poll with 84%, followed by Murphy 74%, Daithi Burke (68%) and Canning (64%).

As stated, we picked the positions based on the 15 players you selected which involves a couple of positional switches but this is our team.  The final poll results are available underneath.


  1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny) 
  2. Sean Finn (Limerick) 
  3. Daithi Burke (Galway) 
  4. Gearoid McInerney (Galway) 
  5. Padraic Mannion (Galway) 
  6. Declan Hannon (Limerick) 
  7. Aidan Harte (Galway) 
  8. Cian Lynch (Limerick) 
  9. David Burke (Galway) 
  10. Peter Duggan (Clare) 
  11. Kyle Hayes (Limerick) 
  12. Joe Canning (Galway) 
  13. Conor Whelan (Galway) 
  14. John Conlon (Clare) 
  15. Aaron Gillane (Limerick) 

Final Poll Results 


EOIN MURPHY (Kilkenny) – 74%, James Skehill (Galway) – 26%


DAITHI BURKE (Galway) – 68%, AIDAN HARTE (Galway) – 22%, Dan Morrissey (Limerick) – 7%, Adrian Tuohey (Galway) – 3%

PADRAIC MANNION (Galway) – 84%, SEAN FINN (Limerick) – 12%, Johnny Coen (Galway) – 4%, Richie English (Limerick) – 0%

DECLAN HANNON (Limerick) – 60%, GEAROID McINERNEY (Galway) – 20%, Mike Casey (Limerick) – 14%, Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick) – 6%


DAVID BURKE (Galway) – 41%, CIAN LYNCH (Limerick) – 35%, Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork) – 22%, Aonghus Clarke (Westmeath) – 2%


JOE CANNING (Galway) – 64%, KYLE HAYES (Limerick) – 13%, Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick) – 12%, Cathal Mannion (Galway) – 11%

PETER DUGGAN (Clare) – 40%, AARON GILLANE (Limerick) – 27%, Jonathan Glynn (Galway) – 22%, Patrick Horgan (Cork) – 11%

JOHN CONLON (Clare) – 35%, CONOR WHELAN (Galway) – 30%, Joseph Cooney (Galway) – 18%, Tom Morrissey (Limerick) – 17%

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Westmeath woman stole over €1,600 in clothes from Galway stores

A Westmeath woman travelled to Galway City just to steal over €1,600 worth of clothes from two stores back in January.Sandra Covaci (20), with...

Coronavirus: 53 new confirmed cases in Galway

939 new cases of COVID-19 were reported by the Department of Health today as well as three further deaths related to the virus.Of the...

First COVID vaccine could be here “within weeks”

The first coronavirus vaccine could be here 'within weeks' and Ireland could be among the first countries to receive batches.Paul Reid, the head of...