11.1 C
Home SPORT GAA GALWAY GAA: Seven All-Star Football Nominations for the Tribesmen 

GALWAY GAA: Seven All-Star Football Nominations for the Tribesmen

Galway have received seven nominations for the 2018 PwC All-Star football awards after the GAA and the GPA released the list on Wednesday (12th September). 

Moycullen’s Sean Kelly, Annaghdown’s Eoghan Kerin and Naomh Anna Leitir Moir’s Sean Andy O’Ceallaigh have been named in defence; Athenry’s Tom Flynn gets a midfield slot; while Kilkerrin/Clonberne’s shane Walsh, Annaghdown’s Damien Comer and Corofin’s Ian Burke are included in the attack.

Amazingly, Galway haven’t picked up an All-Star award since current manager Kevin Walsh was honoured in 2003.  But hopes are high that 2018 will end that wait.  Walsh was named in the Sunday Game Team of the Year, and Comer was recognised in Sky Sports’ version.

Dublin’s success in winning the League, Leinster and All-Ireland titles has been reflected with 12 nominations.  Beaten All-Ireland finalists Tyrone received 7 along with Monaghan. Kildare and Donegal 3 each, Kerry 2 and Armagh, Carlow, Fermanagh and Laois receiving 1 each.

The nominations are divided into 3 goalkeepers, 18 defenders, 6 midfielders and 18 forwards. The final 15 that make up the PwC All-Star Football team of 2018 will be presented with their awards at a gala black-tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, November 2nd.

Also announced today is the short list for this year’s Footballer of the Year and Young Footballer of the Year award.

These overall awards will be voted on exclusively by intercounty players and they will choose between Ciarán Kilkenny, Jack McCaffrey and Brian Fenton (Dublin) for the senior prize.

The shortlist for the Young Footballer of the Year prize is still confined to players under 21 and this year’s nominees are Brian Howard (Dublin), David Clifford (Kerry) and Michael McKernan (Tyrone).

PwC All-Star Football Nominations


Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Graham Brody (Laois), Rory Beggan (Monaghan)


Eoghan Bán Gallagher (Donegal), Jonny Cooper (Dublin), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Eoin Murchan (Dublin), James McCarthy (Dublin), Che Cullen (Fermanagh), Sean Kelly (Galway), Eoghan Kerin (Galway), Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh (Galway), Gavin White (Kerry), Eoin Doyle (Kildare), Karl O’Connell (Monaghan), Drew Wylie (Monaghan), Ryan Wylie (Monaghan, Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone), Michael McKernan (Tyrone), Tiernan McCann (Tyrone), Peter Harte (Tyrone)


Michael Murphy (Donegal), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Thomas Flynn (Galway), Niall Kearns (Monaghan), Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)


Rory Grugan (Armagh), Paul Broderick (Carlow), Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Niall Scully (Dublin), Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin), Brian Howard (Dublin), Paul Mannion (Dublin), Dean Rock (Dublin), Con O’Callaghan (Dublin), Shane Walsh (Galway), Damien Comer (Galway), Ian Burke (Galway), David Clifford (Kerry), Daniel Flynn (Kildare), Paul Cribben (Kildare), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Ryan McAnespie (Monaghan), Niall Sludden (Tyrone)

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Galway businesses awarded over €1.5 million in Trading Online Voucher Scheme

Hundreds of businesses in Galway have benefitted from the Trading Online Voucher Scheme to help them boost their online presence to the tune of...

Farrell calls on Minister for Health to pay student nurses and midwives

Galway West TD Mairéad Farrell has called on the Minister for Health to 'quit delaying' and immediately pay student nurses and midwives. Speaking ahead of...

Slight decrease in COVID cases at Galway hospitals

The number of people with Covid-19 at Galway hospitals decreased yesterday by four, but the number of Covid patients in ICU increased by one.University...