(Photo – Galway GAA)

Kilnadeema/Leitrim go in search of national silverware this Sunday when they take on Thurles Sarsfields in the All-Ireland Junior B Hurling Final.

The annual tournament, hosted by Killeedy GAA club, has proven a popular event and Kilnadeema/Leitrim will hope to cap off a long season after slipping up in the Leinster Final.

Joe Kenny’s team have won 9 games from 10 topping their round-robin group with maximum points before getting past Portumna (after a replay), Killimor and Padraig Pearses in the final by 3-13 to 1-14.

They were caught in the Leinster Final when Kilkenny’s John Lockes edged past them 0-14 to 0-13.  However, in the All-Ireland semi-final, the Galway champions beat Cork’s Killavullen by 0-14 to 0-11.  Liam Kelly top scored with eight points, Vinny Kenny hit three and Kevin Roche also contributed a brace.

Interestingly, Killavullen beat Thurles Sarsfields in the Munster Final by 0-10 to 0-5 but Sunday’s opponents have made good use of the back door hammering Kilnadeema/Leitrim’s conquerors John Lockes 3-14 to 0-10 in the semi-final.

John Lillis and Stevie Tower are strong defenders; Conor Moloney and Mattew Kelly will lead the attack; and the industry of Pa Crone could be crucial over the hour.

No doubt, Kilnadeema/Leitrim will bring plenty of support.  Paul Howard is reliable between the sticks; Aaron Murray and Eanna Shalvey occupy the central defensive roles; Christopher Mahony and Mark O’Brien form a solid midfield unit; while Kenny, Roche, Kelly and Cathal Nevin will be their attackers.

It’s seven years since Ballinderreen were the last Galway winners of the Killeedy Perpetual Cup while Athenry and Menlo Emmets are previous winners.  Kilnadeema/Leitrim worked hard in their domestic championship and have dug out games when required only being caught once.


Verdict: Kilnadeema/Leitrim 

Kilnadeema/Leitrim (possible): Paul Howard; Kevin Kelly, Aaron Murray, Daniel Mahony; Conor Howard, Eanna Shalvey, David Spellman; Christopher Mahony, Mark O’Brien; Vinny Kenny, Kevin Roche, Cathal Nevin; Luke Devine, Liam Kelly, Fergal Broderick.