Senior Hurling Championship – Sunday, 8th April 

Turloughmore 0-15 Balinderreen 1-8 

Paul Shaughnessy in Pearse Stadium 

In a tight encounter, Turloughmore just done enough to defeat Ballinderreen in Group One of the Senior B Hurling Championship.

Newly promoted Ballinderreen started brightly leading 0-4 to 0-2 after seven minutes with Kevin Lane, Roy Lane, Shane Larkin and Sean Coen on target for Keith Connolly’s side while Sean Loftus and a Jamie Holland placed ball kept Turloughmore within touching distance.

Joe Hession’s side took the lead with five unanswered points from Daniel Loftus, Barry McDonagh, Sean Loftus, Jamie Holland and Daithi Burke to have Turloughmore leading 0-7 to 0-4 at the break.

Turloughmore suffered a huge blow after the break with Daithi Burke forced off through an eye injury. Holland and Kevin Lane traded scores early on in the second half.

The 2017 Intermediate champions raised a green flag with David O’Connor sending a cross field ball to Oisin Burke who placed the sliotar into the bottom corner and a further Kevin Lane placed ball had the sides deadlocked at 1-6 to 0-9 after 41 minutes.

Galway senior star Sean Loftus was tremendous all day and pointed another long-range point on 45 minutes. Last year’s Galway under 17 star Niall Coen was fouled in the small square and Ballinderreen were awarded a penalty up stepped Kevin Lane but his shot was saved terrifically by Paul Dullaghan.

Last year’s Galway under 21 duo Sean Linnane and Sean Loftus found the range with 0-2 each. Ballinderreen struck for two consecutive points courtesy of Oisin Burke and Kevin Lane. Fresh from last weekend’s Croke Cup Final, Conor Walsh sealed the victory from a placed ball.

Turloughmore: Paul Dullaghan; Michael Morris, Ronan Burke, Fergal Moore; Kevin Hussey, Daithi Burke (0-1), Daniel Loftus; (0-1), Sean Loftus (0-5), Vincent Doyle; Jamie Holland (0-4, all frees), Matthew Keating, Shane Burke; Barry McDonagh (0-1), Richard Doyle, Sean Linnane (0-2). Subs used: Mark Murphy, Conor Walsh (0-1), Conor Shaughnessy, Damien Holland.

Ballinderreen: Rory Foy; Kieran Meehan, Colm Meehan, Brendan Burke; Robbie Lane, Sean Collins, Conor Meehan; Kevin Lane (0-4, all frees), Shane Larkin (0-1); Shane Coen, Oisin Burke (1-1), Kieran Ryan; Sean Coen (0-1), Roy Lane (0-1), Kieran Gill. Subs used: Niall Coen, David O’Connor, Cathal Gill.

Referee: Michael Haverty