The County Senior and Intermediate Hurling Championships will commence on the weekend of April 7th/8th with 18 games fixed over the two days. 

Defending senior champions Liam Mellows are in the last match scheduled as they’ll begin their quest for back-to-back Tom Callanan Cups when they face last year’s semi-finalists Craughwell on Sunday 8th April at 5.45pm.

It’s the second game in a double header proceeded by the Senior B meeting between Clarinbridge and Killimordaly at 4pm.

2017 runners-up Gort also see action on the Sunday when they take on the other top four team from last year Cappataggle in Duggan Park at 2.15pm.  That’s also part of a double in Ballinasloe with previous winners Portumna and Sarsfields facing off at 12.30pm.

2016 champions St. Thomas begin their campaign on Saturday, 7th April when they take on Kilnadeema/Leitrim in Kenny Park at 5.45pm.  And they’ll be joined by the Senior B clash of Ardrahan and Padraig Pearses at 4pm.

Newly promoted intermediate champions Ballinderreen will commence their assault on senior honours on Sunday when they tackle Turloughmore in Pearse Stadium at 2.15pm.  That will follow the intermediate showdown between Sylane and Oranmore/Maree at 12.30pm.

Action begins on Saturday at 4pm with six games spread across the county in Duggan Park, Kenny Park, Carnmore, Ballinderreen, Gort and Pearse Stadium.  Four of those venues will provide double headers before another four cards hosts eight games on Sunday.

Galway Daily will be previewing both competitions next week and giving our thoughts on who we think will emerge victorious. 


Senior A Hurling Championship Fixtures (Saturday/Sunday – 7th/8th April) 

Castlegar vs Tommy Larkins (Saturday, 5.45pm Gort)

St. Thomas vs Kilnadeema/Leitrim (Saturday, 5.45pm Kenny Park)

Mullagh vs Loughrea (Saturday, 5.45pm Duggan Park)

Portumna vs Sarsfields (Sunday, 12.30pm Duggan Park)

Cappataggle vs Gort (Sunday, 2.15pm Duggan Park)

Craughwell vs Liam Mellows (Sunday, 5.45pm Kenny Park)


Senior B Hurling Championship Fixtures (Saturday/Sunday – 7th/8th April) 

Athenry vs Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry (Saturday, 4pm Duggan Park)

Ardrahan vs Padraig Pearses (Saturday, 4pm Kenny Park)

Abbeyknockmoy vs Moycullen (Saturday, 5.45pm Pearse Stadium)

Ahascragh/Fohenagh vs Beagh (Sunday, 1.45pm Loughrea)

Turloughmore vs Ballinderreen (Sunday, 2.15pm Pearse Stadium)

Clarinbridge vs Killimordaly (Sunday, 4pm Kenny Park)


Intermediate Hurling Championship Fixtures (Saturday/Sunday – 7th/8th April) 

Annaghdown vs Killimor (Saturday, 4pm Carnmore)

Kinvara vs Kilconieron (Saturday, 4pm Ballinderreen)

Rahoon/Newcastle vs Meelick/Eyrecourt (Saturday, 4pm Gort)

Carnmore vs An Spideal (Saturday, 4pm Pearse Stadium)

Castlegar vs Kiltormer (Sunday, 12pm Loughrea)

Sylane vs Oranmore/Maree (Sunday, 12.30pm Pearse Stadium)