GALWAY GAA: 2018 Galway Minor Hurler Semi-Finals


The opening round of our 2018 Galway Daily Minor Hurler of the Year competition closed last night (Monday) as the 16 contenders were whittled down to nine players. 

Diarmuid Kilcommins topped the poll with 58% followed by Shane Jennings (53%), Dean Reilly (48%) and Patrick Rabbitte (41%).

The top two from each of the four groups advanced to the next round along with the best third placed player (Oisin Flannery – St. Thomas – 24%).

As two players finished joint second in Group Three, the adjudicators had to make a call to see who advanced.  They opted for Jason O’Donoghue ahead of Padraig Pearses’ Oisin Flannery.

Some of those unfortunate to be eliminated included Oisin Flannery (Padraig Pearses), Michael Flynn, Niall Collins, Sean McDonagh and Shane Quirke.

The semi-finalists will take part today (Tuesday) with three groups containing three players each.  The winners from each group will qualify for Wednesday’s final along with the best runner-up.

Any ties will be decided by our adjudication panel.  All you need to do is log into (and like) our twitter page and like your favourite player in each section each day.  It’s that simple.  Each poll will last for 15 hours.


Round 1 Results 

DIARMUID KILCOMMINS – 58%, EVAN DUGGAN – 18%, Niall Collins – 12%, Shane Quirke – 12%

PATRICK RABBITTE – 41%, SEAN NEARY – 26%, OISIN FLANNERY (St. Thomas) – 24%, Oisin Salmon – 9%

DEAN REILLY – 48%, JASON O’DONOGHUE – 18%, Oisin Flannery (Padraig Pearses) – 18%, Michael Flynn – 16%

SHANE JENNINGS – 53%, DONAL O’SHEA – 27%, Sean McDonagh – 12%, Adam Brett – 8%


The posts below will show the semi-final draw and we will have winners each day along with the overall results on Thursday (23rd August).  Best of luck to all players!