GALWAY GAA: 2018 Galway Daily Senior Hurler of the Year

Galway Senior Hurling

Galway’s hopes of consecutive Liam McCarthy Cups ended in heartbreak at Croke Park on Sunday (19th August) as Limerick held on to clinch a 3-16 to 2-18 victory. 

It was the first title for the Shannonsiders in 45 years but the Tribesmen nearly rescued their crown as late goals from Conor Whelan and Joe Canning brought an eight-point deficit back to just one.

Galway maintained an unbeaten championship stretch that reached 13 games before their All-Ireland Final defeat.  They also secured the Leinster hurling title and went down fighting until the very end like true champions!

To mark the end, we will be running a three-round twitter poll competition on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday to decide the 2018 Galway Daily Senior Hurler of the Year.

On Monday (August 20th), our selected 16 players will go into four groups containing four players each.  The top two from each qualify for the next round along with the best third placed player.

On Tuesday (August 21st), the remaining 9 players will compete in the semi-finals with three groups containing three players each.  The winners from each section advance and the best runner-up.

And on Wednesday (August 22nd), the final four will be in the final where our readers will decide who is the 2018 Galway Daily Senior Hurler of the Year.

Any ties will be decided by our adjudication panel.  All you need to do is log into (and like) our twitter page and like your favourite player in each section each day.  It’s that simple.  Each poll will last for 15 hours.

The posts below will show the first-round draw and we will have winners each day along with the overall results on Thursday (23rd August).  Best of luck to all players!