GALWAY GAA: 2018 Galway Daily Minor Hurler of the Year

Galway Minor Hurling

For the third time in four years, Galway were crowned All-Ireland Minor Hurling Champions on Sunday (19th August) as a strong second half display saw them run out 0-21 to 0-14 winners over Kilkenny. 

With the new age and championship structures, it was as sweet a win for Jeffrey Lynskey’s charges as the other successful Irish Press Cup ventures in 2015 and 2017.

Galway were solid in group wins over Limerick and Kilkenny before putting Dublin to the sword in the semi-final.  And despite being under pressure from the Noresiders in the final’s first half, they finished strongly to emerge winners in Croke Park.

To mark the end, we will be running a three-round twitter poll competition on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday to decide the 2018 Galway Daily Minor Hurler of the Year.

On Monday (August 20th), our selected 16 players will go into four groups containing four players each.  The top two from each qualify for the next round along with the best third placed player.

On Tuesday (August 21st), the remaining 9 players will compete in the semi-finals with three groups containing three players each.  The winners from each section advance and the best runner-up.

And on Wednesday (August 22nd), the final four will be in the final where our readers will decide who is the 2018 Galway Daily Senior Hurler of the Year.

Any ties will be decided by our adjudication panel.  All you need to do is log into (and like) our twitter page and like your favourite player in each section each day.  It’s that simple.  Each poll will last for 15 hours.

The posts below will show the first-round draw and we will have winners each day along with the overall results on Thursday (23rd August).  Best of luck to all players!