GALWAY GAA: 10 Minors Add Under 16 Hurling All-Ireland


Eugene Carey Under 16 Hurling Tournament Final – Saturday, 25th August 2018 

Galway 1-11 Cork 1-6 

Just six days after the under 17s won the All-Ireland title in Croke Park, Galway’s under 16s gave a sign that the three-in-a-row could be on as they won this prestigious tournament in Mallow.

Ten player from Jeffrey Lynskey’s All-Ireland winning minor panel were involved showing the future of Galway hurling is looking bright.

A Patrick Cummins goal and seven points from the accurate Sean McDonagh put Brian Hanley’s team ahead 1-7 to 0-3 at half-time.

And even though Jack Cahalane hit back with a second half Cork goal, the visitors were always in control and took the win and another national title for Galway.

Thanks to Joe Keane was supplying us with these two pictures. 

Scorers for Galway: Sean McDonagh 0-7(0-3f, 0-1’65), Patrick Cummins (1-1), John Cooney, Daniel O’Malley, Niall Glynn 0-1 each.

Galway under 16 hurling

Back row, left to right: Brian Hanley (Manager), Declan O’Brien (Selector), Roin Collins (Carnmore), Jack Linnane (Gort), John Cooney (Sarsfields), Patrick Cummins (Gort), Eanna Daveron (Moycullen), Evan Farrell (Turloughmore), Niall Glynn (Ahascragh/Fohenagh), Conor Burke (Kinvara), Robert Noone (Killimordaly), Jamie Treacy (Athenry), Eoin Lawless (Athenry), Jack Dowling (Athenry), Barry Britton (Kinvara), Mark Hardiman (Athenry), Connell Keane (Michael Cusacks), Eoin Cooley (Gort), Eoin Killeen (Michael Cusacks), Oisin Slevin (Ardrahan), Ciaran Callanan (Selector).

Front Row, left to right: Jack Coughlan (Cappataggle), Jack Walsh (Kilconieron), Declan McLoughlin (Portumna), Alex Connaire (Sarsfields), Matthew Rosengrove (Michael Cusacks), Mike Egan (Cappataggle), Luke Prendergast (Ballinderreen), Shane Broderick (Killimordaly), Ryan Howley (Craughwell), Keith Dervan (Tommy Larkins), Daniel O’Malley (Kilnadeema/Leitrim), Sean McDonagh (Mountbellew/Moylough), Christy Brennan (Clarinbridge), Colm Cunningham (Moycullen), Ian McGlynn (Kilconieron ©), Cillian O’Callaghan (Castlegar), Damien Coleman (Coaching Officer Connacht).