GAA: Ballinderreen End 22 Year Wait

Ballinderreen Junior B Hurling
The Ballindeereen Junior B team which defeated Killimor in the Junior B final. Back row left to right: Billy Carr ( manger) Pat Sheeehan, Luke Tully, Padraig Lafferty, Aidan Linnane, Colin Kelly, Alan Organ, Gary Forde, Gavin Duffy, Gary Molloy, Jamie Molloy, Pakie Carr, Barry Duffy, Shane Lyons, Noel Linnane , Martina Linnane. Front row left to right Michael Kelly, Mark Ganly, Sean Corcoran, Hugh Moylan, Allen Martyn, Colm Gill (capt) Niall Gill, Aidan Duffy, Kevin Coen, Christy Mc Tigue, Keith Carr, Conor Crotty, Sean Meehan, Missing from Pic.. Pakie Lane. (Photo - Joe Keane)

County Junior B Hurling Final Replay – Saturday, 20th October 2018 

Ballinderreen 0-13 Killimor 0-9 

Darren Kelly in Loughrea 

(Photos: courtesy – Joe Keane)

Ballinderreen ended a 22-year wait for Junior B hurling silverware after four late points got them over the line.  Anthony Callaghy’s third score brought Killimor back on terms with 10 minutes left but with one final burst, Ballinderreen drove towards the winners’ enclosure.

Aidan Duffy (2), Colm Gill and substitute Allen Martyn put four between them.  But while this was dominated by defenders, it began and ended in exciting fashion.  Indeed, before Martyn got Ballinderreen’s last score, Gill looked to have finished it off but his ground stroke past rattled the post.

Killimor won a late free for Micheal Dervan but despite 14 scores in two games, Killimor’s free taker couldn’t catch a break and Colin Kelly deflected the shot away.  The first half also began in thrilling fashion with Ballinderreen awarded a penalty after just 25 seconds after Hugh Moylan was taken down.

Aidan Duffy’s fierce effort was bravely saved by Garry Keane despite the concession of a point.  And Keane’s long drive on two minutes was taken in the air by Ronan Egan who turned to level the match.  But Ballinderreen were enjoying the early momentum as Duffy sent over two more white flags.

Gary Forde gave Ballinderreen a 0-4 to 0-1 lead before Callaghy opened his Killimor account.  Conor Crotty’s strike on 17 minutes restored Ballinderreen’s three-point lead but Killimor hit back with two Dervan frees.  Gavin Duffy chipped in with two Ballinderreen points from play by the 21st minute.

Ballinderreen suffered a blow when full back Packie Lane left the field after an accidental collision and Killimor got the last point before the break through Niall Dervan.  That sent them in at 0-7 to 0-5 but Aidan Duffy was quickest after the restart with his free on 32 minutes restoring the three-point game.

It took Killimor 16 minutes to finally catch their opponents.  Micheal Dervan (2) and Callaghy  made it 0-8 apiece on 48 minutes.  Aidan Duffy registered a Ballinderreen free immediately after but Callaghy restored parity.  When Ballinderreen made it 0-10 to 0-9, they didn’t look back.

Killimor Junior B Hurling
The Killimor Team which lost to Ballindeereen in the Junior B final, Back Row Left to Right: Anthony Callagy, Tommy Gibbons, Shane McClearn, Eoin Callaghy, Ronan Egan, Sean Callaghy, Michael Gohery, Jack O’Meara, Niall O’Meara, David Hanney, Niall Dervan, Stephen Quinn, Terence Fahy, James McEvoy. Front row, left to right: Mike Winters, Cian Ryan, Ryan Hanrahan, Noel Lyons, Garry Keane, Francis Larkin, Shane Boland, Michael Dervan, Ger Lyons. Mascots from left to right: Dylan Lyons, Eanna Lyons, T J Larkin, Paudi Boland.

Scorers – Ballinderreen: Aidan Duffy 0-7 (four frees, one penalty, one ‘65), Gavin Duffy 0-2, Conor Crotty 0-1, Colm Gill 0-1, Gary Forde 0-1, Allen Martyn 0-1. 

Scorers – Killimor: Micheal Dervan 0-4 (all frees), Anthony Callaghy 0-3, Niall Dervan 0-1, Ronan Egan 0-1. 

Ballinderreen: Colin Kelly; Niall Gill, Patrick Lane, Jack Tully; Conor Crotty, Patrick Carr, Gavin Duffy; Aidan Linnane, Alan Organ; Colm Gill, Gary Forde, Aidan Duffy; Hugh Moylan, Kevin Coen, Padraig Lafferty.

Subs used: Allen Martyn for Lane (24 mins), Gary Molloy for Lafferty (44 mins).

Killimor: Garry Keane; Francis Larkin, Shane Boland, David Hanney; Mike Winters, Michael Gohery, Shane McClearn; Jack O’Meara, Noel Lyons; Niall Dervan, Sean Callaghy, Ronan Egan; Anthony Callaghy, Ger Lyons, Micheal Dervan.

Subs used: Colin Madden for S Callaghy (41 mins).

Referee: Michael Conway (Craughwell)

Man of the Match: Niall Gill (Ballinderreen)