Galway GAA: The 2018 Feile Hurling and Camogie Tournaments took place last weekend (June 8th – 10th) with 32 winners declared across the two codes. 

The under 14s massive event witnessed over 600 games involving 250 teams and had matches played across Connacht, Westmeath and Longford including finals in Duggan Park, Ballinasloe, Athlone and Cusack Park, Mullingar.

Bekan was the central base for events with the majority of the finals taking place across its six fields on Sunday, 10th June while many other teams stopped off at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence on Saturday.

Galway had six winners but pride of place went to Turloughmore who added the National title to their two county victories.  The north Galway parish beat Tipperary’s Durlas g 0-8 to 0-6 in the decider to become the county’s first Division 1 winners since their own success in 2010.


Kilnadeema/Leitrim were winners in one of the four all-Galway finals as they defeated Tommy Larkins 3-6 to 0-3 in the Division 2 Hurling Shield.  And Carnmore got the better of Kinvara by 1-10 to 0-7 in the Division 3 Hurling Shield.

Abbeyknockmoy were also celebrating when action came to a close as they achieved double championship glory.  Their Division 6 hurling team ran out 6-5 to 1-0 victors over Ballygar in the Shield Final.  And their Division 1 camogie side were also 1-3 to 1-2 winners against Shamrocks in their Shield.

And Skehana/Menlough also were crowned All-Ireland champions as they beat Eglish/St. Patrick’s 1-4 to 0-0 in the Division 6 Camogie Shield.

Cois Fharraige and Mullagh/Kiltormer (who’d to travel all the way to Mullingar) also participated in hurling finals but were unlucky to come up short.  Cois Fharraige lost out 1-4 to 0-5 against CRC Gaels in the Division 4 Shield.  And Mullagh fell 1-8 to 1-1 in the Division 5 Cup to Commercials.

And in camogie there was also disappointment for Eyrecourt in the Division 2 Shield as Raharney edged home 3-3 to 3-1.  While St. Enda’s Omagh got the better of Sarsfields ‘B’ in the Division 7 Shield by 4-3 to 0-0.