Galway dominate Camogie All-Stars awards

Galway Daily sport Galway dominate Camogie All-Stars awards
Photo: INPHO

Galway dominated the Camogie All-Stars awards this week, where eight players came away with an award, as well as the top prize.

Half-Forward Aoife Donohoe was the winner of the Camogie Association/GPA Senior Players’ Player of the Year award.

In total, Galway are represented through goalkeeper Sarah Healy, defenders Shauna Healy and Sarah Dervan, midfielder Niamh Kilkenny and forwards Aoife Donohue, Siobhan Mc Grath, Orlaith Mc Grath and Ailish O’Reilly.

Along with the players’ success, manager Cathal Murray won the Manager of the Year award during the refixed All-Stars Awards banquet in the Osprey Hotel, Naas on Friday.

Galway are also featured in the Soaring Stars Award through forward Ava Lynskey.

The remaining All-Stars Awards went to Cork and Kilkenny respectively, with the Rebels earning three All-Stars Awards, and Kilkenny taking home four awards.

Speaking at the event, Uachtarán Hilda Breslin said, “It is wonderful to be back sharing this prestigious event with you all in person and celebrating our players for their high quality and thrilling performances last year.”

“Congratulations to all our winning players and to all our nominees on this wonderful recognition for your efforts in your county shirt last year.”

“It is a proud achievement to be recognised for your performances at the highest level and I hope tonight’s achievement inspires you all to continue lighting the way for the sport and for future generations.”

“I would like to thank the GPA for their joint sponsorship of the Player of the Year Awards, and congratulate Aoife Donohoe, Maeve Kelly and Chloe Cashe on their respective Camogie Association/GPA Player of the Year Awards.”

“My congratulations also go to Cathal Murray on being the 2021 Manager of the Year,” Hilda added.

“The action is very much underway for the new season and the excitement for what the summer months have lying in wait is palpable.”

The full list of this year’s Camogie All-Stars is:

Goalkeeper: Sarah Healy (Galway)

Corner-Back: Shauna Healy (Galway)

Full-Back: Sarah Dervan (Galway)

Corner-Back: Davina Tobin (Kilkenny)

Half-Back: Megan Farrell (Kilkenny)

Centre-Back: Laura Treacy (Cork)

Half-Back: Laura Hayes (Cork)

Midfield: Niamh Kilkenny (Galway)

Midfield: Hannah Looney (Cork)

Half-Forward: Aoife Donohoe (Galway)

Centre-Forward: Katie Nolan (Kilkenny)

Half-Forward: Denise Gaule (Kilkenny)

Corner-Forward: Siobhan McGrath (Galway)

Full-Forward: Orlaith McGrath (Galway)

Corner-Forward: Ailish O’ Reilly (Galway)


2022 Soaring Stars Team:

Goalkeeper: Catriona Graham (Antrim)

Corner-Back: Chloe Drain (Antrim)

Full-Back: Roisin Phelan (Kilkenny)

Corner-Back: Niamh Leahy (Kilkenny)

Half-Back: Sarah Crowley (Kilkenny)

Centre-Back: Leann Fennelly (Kilkenny)

Half-Back: Aideen Brennan (Wexford)

Midfield: Chloe Cashe (Wexford)

Midfield: Nicole O’ Neill (Antrim)

Half-Forward: Maeve Kelly (Antrim)

Centre-Half Forward: Ciara Banville (Wexford)

Half-Forward: Ava Lynskey (Galway)

Corner-Forward: Roisin McCormack (Antrim)

Full-Forward: Ciara Donnelly (Armagh)

Corner-Forward: Caitrin Dobbin (Antrim)


Camogie Association/GPA Senior Players’ Player of the Year: Aoife Donohue (Galway)

Camogie Association/GPA Intermediate Players’ Player of the Year: Maeve Kelly (Antrim)

Camogie Association/GPA Junior Players’ Player of the Year: Chloe Cashe (Wexford)

Manager of the Year: Cathal Murray (Galway)