18.1 C
Home NEWS Seán Canney announces funding for 15 schools in Galway East

Seán Canney announces funding for 15 schools in Galway East

Galway East TD Seán Canney has welcomed the confirmation from the Department of Education that funding has been allocated to 15 schools in East Galway.

This funding has been approved and will be allocated for the purposes of improvement works.

The Minister of State for Rural Affairs, Natural Resources and Digital Development said: “9 schools will benefit from funding to replace windows.”

To add to this, “5 schools will benefit from funding for structural improvement works’ while ‘1 school will receive funding for curricular requirements.”

The National Schools to benefit from this funding are listed as follows:

Annagh Hill National School

Annagh Hill National School,

Kilnadema National School,

St. Pat’s National School Tuam,

St. Brendan’s Loughrea,

Belcare National School,

Kilsolan National School Ballinasloe,

St. Coleman’s National School Cummer,

Gurteen National School,

St. Kerrills Ballinasloe &

Newtown National School Abbeyknockmoy.

It must also be noted that the following Post Primary Schools will benefit from this funding:

Holy Rosary College Mountbellew

Seamount College Kinvara,

Holy Rosary College Mountbellew,

Presentation College Headford

& Colaiste Mhuire Ballygar.

The Independent TD congratulated the schools and praised their efforts in making applications for funding.

The TD emphasized the vital importance that Educational Facilities are up to the highest standard possible for students.

The origin of the funding can be attributed to a part of the €40 Million ‘Summer Works Fund’ announced today by the Minister for Education and Skills Joe McHugh.


Our new restaurants page features all of Galway’s favourite eateries –  making it oh so easy to choose when and where to eat whenever you’re craving some delicious food!

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Coronavirus: 6 more deaths in Republic, small increase in Galway cases

Six more people have died after being diagnosed with COVID-19 in the Republic of Ireland and 39 additional cases have been confirmed. The total number...

Spanish Arch and other city sites closing over social distancing issues

A number of public amenities and sites in Galway city are being closed off once again due to recent social distancing problems. Galway City Council...

World Cup of Galway Restaurants continues with Group E!

Giovanni's and Venice Restaurant have progressed from Group B and join the likes of Xi'An Street Food and Woozza in the last 16 -...