Record-breaking €230 million Euromillions jackpot

Galway Daily news Galway player scoops €50,000 Euromillions raffle prize

The Euromillions Jackpot for Friday evening’s draw is headed to a record-breaking €230 million estimated prize.

A single winner of the EuroMillions jackpot in Ireland, or in one of the other eight participating European countries will officially become the largest ever lottery winners in Europe.

It has already been a bumper year for EuroMillions prize wins in Ireland. In 2022, the EuroMillions game has already created four new lottery millionaires which includes a €30.9 million prize which was won by a Co. Clare syndicate last February.

One of those lucky players was in Galway, one of three who became overnight millionaires after winning €1 million each in the special Raffle draw on January 21.

The Galway winner got their prize off a ticket bought at the Spar store in Parkmore, Ballybrit.

This was the second time this store, owned by Gerard Geraghty and managed by his brother John, had made someone a Lotto millionaire, after also selling a €1 million raffle ticket in 2018.

An additional 12 players throughout the country have also won the EuroMillions Plus top prize of €500,000 this year.

A North County Dublin family syndicate currently hold the record for winning the highest EuroMillions jackpot in Ireland after winning €175.4 million in February 2019.

A spokesperson from the National Lottery has urged players who are planning to play in the EuroMillions game this Friday to purchase their tickets early to avoid possible disappointment.

“Friday night’s EuroMillions draw is truly record-breaking. The mega jackpot on offer is fast heading towards the €230 million jackpot cap and if Friday’s jackpot does hit the cap, there could be larger than normal prize winners at the next winning prize tier.”

Under the EuroMillions community rules, when the jackpot is capped, any excess which would normally be allocated to the jackpot will flow down to the next prize tier at which there will be more winners.