Cllr Peter Keane elected as Mayor of Galway City


Councillor Peter Keane was elected as Mayor of the City of Galway at the Galway City Council AGM in City Hall last week.

At the Annual General Meeting, Cllr Niall McNelis was also chosen as the Deputy Mayor of the council.

The Annual General Meeting marked the beginning of the five-year term of the new Galway City Council following the local elections earlier this month.

One third of the members are first time councillors, and one third of the members of Galway City Council are female.

The new councillors include Josie Forde of Fianna Fail, Aisling Burke of Sinn Féin, Helen Ogbu and John McDonagh of Labour, Shane Forde of Fine Gael, and Eibhlín Seoighthe of the Social Democrats.

The full list of the new city council is:

Galway City Central

  • Mike Cubbard (Ind)
  • Eddie Hoare (FG)
  • Frank Fahy (FG)
  • Josie Ford (FF)
  • John McDonagh (Lab)
  • Eibhlín Seoighte (Soc Dems)

Galway City East

  • Alan Cheevers (FF)
  • Declan McDonnell (Ind)
  • Terry O’Flaherty (Ind)
  • Shane Forde (FG)
  • Aisling Burke (SF)
  • Helen Ogbu (Lab)

Galway City West

  • Donal Lyons (Ind)
  • Clodagh Higgins (FG)
  • John Connolly (FF)
  • Alan Curran (Soc Dems)
  • Peter Keane (FF)
  • Niall McNelis (Lab)