Máiread McGuinness re-elected to European Parliament while Maria Walsh in the running for fourth seat

Galway Daily news Mairead McGuinness first Irish MEP elected to the European Parliament

Results of the first count of the Midlands North West Constituency for the European Parliament have been released with one seat filled.

Máiread McGuinness has been re-elected to the European Parliament exceeding the quota with 124,630 first preference votes.

Like Ming Flanagan is in second place obtaining 85,034 first preference votes, doing significantly better than the exit polls suggested.

Matt Carthy is in 3rd place capturing 77,619 first preference votes. The Sinn Féin representative could potentially be in a spot of bother if he doesn’t transfer well.

In 4th place is Maria Walsh with 64,500 first preference votes. The second Fine Gael Candidate is in a good position to pick up many transfers from Máiread McGuinness’s surplus.

The 2014 Rose of Tralee will no doubt be wary of Independent Candidate Peter Casey who is just trailing behind her for the 4th and last seat.

Peter Casey obtained 56,650 first preference votes. He looks to have a task ahead of him hoping to pick up enough transfers to knock Maria Walsh or Matt Carthy out of the race.

Galway TD Anne Rabbitte looks highly unlikely to secure a seat for Fianna Fáil. Taking in 30,220 votes on the first count putting her in 8th place.

Full Results

1. Máiread McGuinness (Fine Gael) 124,630

2. Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan (Independent) 85,834

3. Matt Carthy (Sinn Féin) 77,619

4. Maria Walsh (Fine Gael) 64,500

5. Peter Casey (Independent) 56,650

6. Saoirse McHugh (Green Party) 51,019

7. Brendan Smith (Fianna Fáil) 42,814

8. Anne Rabbitte (Fianna Fáil) 30,220

9. Fidelma Healy Eames (Independent) 15,991

10. Dominic Hannigan (Labour) 12,378

11. Cyril Brennan (Solidarity/People Before Profit) 8130

12. Michael O’Dowd (Renua) 6897

13. Olive O’Connor (Independent) 3132

14.  Dilip Mahatapra (Independent) 2450

15. Patrick Greene (Direct Democracy Ireland) 1,352

16. James Miller (Independent) 1322

17. Diarmuid Mulcahy (Independent) 789