Gráinne Seoige to host 2019 NUIG Alumni Awards

Galway daily news Gráinne Seoige to host 2019 NUIG Alumni Awards

Renowned Irish broadcaster, journalist and founder of Grace Diamonds, Gráinne Seoige will be hosting the 2019 Gala Ball and Alumni Awards at NUI Galway.

Born in Spiddal and a graduate of NUIG herself, Gráinne Seoige has had a prestigious career as an Irish journalist, news anchor, and presenter for documentary and entertainment television.

In her time on the air Gráinne has worked with all four major Irish television networks, RTÉ One, RTÉ2, TV3, and TG4.

A long time advocate of the Irish language, Gráinne Seoige was awarded the Duais Don Gaeilge in 2006 for her work on behalf of it.

She will now be presenting the 20th annual Alumni Awards at the Gala Ball in the university on Saturday, April 13.

The NUI Galway Alumni Awards recognise individual excellence and achievements among the University’s more than 100,000 graduates worldwide.

After two decades the awards boast an impressive honour roll of more than 100 individual such as President of Ireland Michael D Higgins, public figures like Pat Rabbitte, Eamon Gilmore and Máire Whelan, international sports stars such as Ciarán FitzGerald and Olive Loughnane, and other like Gráinne herself.

Seven awards will be presented at the Gala Ball this month, the recipients of which have already been announced.

The full list of winners for 2019 is:

Alumni Award for Arts, Literature and Celtic Studies – Sponsored by Deloitte

  • Journalist & RTÉ London correspondent, Fiona Mitchell – BA 1993

Alumni Award for Business and Commerce – Sponsored by Bank of Ireland

  • Aviation entrepreneur, Dómhnal Slattery – BComm 1988

Alumni Award for Law, Public Policy and Government – Sponsored by Ronan Daly Jermyn

  • Senior counsel and jurist, Grainne McMorrow – BA 1980, LLB 1983 

Alumni Award for Engineering, Science and Technology – Sponsored by Merc Partners

  • Cancer scientist, Dr John Lyons – BSc 1979

Alumni Award for Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences – Sponsored by Medtronic

  • Surgeon and clinical educator, Dr Ronan Waldron – MB BCh BAO 1976, MMedSc 1984

Gradam Alumni don Gaeilge – Urraithe ag OÉ Gaillimh

  • Journalist and broadcaster, Póilín Ní Chiaráin – BA 1965

Alumni Award for Contribution to Sport – Sponsored by Bank of Ireland

  • Sports medicine pioneer, Dr Mick Molloy – MB BCh BAO 1968