Galway Educate Together NS among 17 schools with structural defects

Galway Daily news Galway Educate Together National School among 17 schools found with structural issues

Another 17 schools have been identified as having structural defects after investigations, including the Galway Educate Together National School in Newcastle.

All the schools in question were built by the Tyrone based company Western Building Systems, and come on top of 22 others built by them found to have structural problems last year that required emergency works.

Temporary engineering solutions and other precautionary measures will be carried out on the 17 newly identified schools while longer term solutions are worked on.

Educate Together, the patron of multiple schools now identified as needing work, has said that there may be a delay to the opening of some of its schools in September as a result of this.

The 17 schools underwent a preliminary analysis last year after the scandal broke, which said that they did not require any precautionary measures.

However, more in depth investigations have since been carried out which found that some amount of permanent repair and remediation work is required at each of the schools.

It’s currently expected that these permanent remediation works will take place over the summer periods of 2020 and 2021, while temporary solutions will be put in place for the coming school year.

The Department of Education has said that it is continuing to liaise with the Chief State Solicitor’s Office and the Attorney General’s Office on the on-going legal process underway against Western Building Systems.

When this scandal erupted last year after several schools were forced to close temporarily die to safety concerns, WBS said that the building had been certified safe at the time of their construction.

One, Ardgillan Community College, remains closed due to ongoing safety concerns.

Of the 17 newly identified, at risk schools, nine are in Dublin, with the remainder in Meath, Laois, Donegal, Wexford, Wicklow, Galway, Kildare, and Westmeath.

  Detailed investigations completed, temporary remediation and precautionary measures being undertaken – 17 schools.
County School Name
Dublin Luttrellstown Community College
Dublin Gaelscoil Shliabh Rua, Dublin 18
Dublin Broombridge Educate Together NS, Cabra
Dublin Scoil Choilm Community National School, Porterstown
Dublin Gaelscoil na Giúise, Firhouse
Meath Gaelscoil Thulach na nÓg, Dunboyne
Laois Maryborough National School, Portlaoise
Dublin Scoil Aoife Community National School, Citywest
Donegal Letterkenny Educate Together NS
Dublin Firhouse Educate Together NS
Wexford St Joseph’s Primary School, Gorey
Dublin Lucan Community National School, Balgaddy Rd
Wicklow Gaelscoil na gCloch Liath, Greystones
Dublin Rush and Lusk Educate Together NS
Galway Galway Educate Together NS, Newcastle
Kildare Gaelscoil Mhic Aodha, Kildare Town
Westmeath Mullingar Educate Together NS

In total, the Department is carrying out or planning remediation works at 40 schools constructed by WBS.

Minister for Education Joe McHugh said “Safety has always been at the heart of our response to the structural deficiencies that were identified in these schools. It will continue to be.”

“Any permanent or temporary engineering solutions or precautionary measures that are advised by engineers as a result of detailed assessment and analysis of these buildings are being undertaken.”