Galway City Tidy Towns winners announced

Galway Daily news Galway City Tidy Towns winners announced

The pride of Galway City in its best kept neighbourhoods and stunning gardens was on display in the 2021 Tidy Towns competition.

The winners of the annual Galway City Tidy Towns Garden Competition have been announced, with the efforts of individuals and communities to make their homes as impeccable as possible rewarded.

The overall winner of the Front Garden Competition was Pat McPhilbin, whose green oasis on a large corner site was described as “enchanting” by the competition judge.

“While the evergreens marking the boundary are gradually becoming more prominent, the gardener’s work is still presented proudly for all in the community to enjoy.”

“This gardener demonstrates dedication, awareness and talent with regard to design principles, creativity and gardening know-how.”

The competition is organised by Galway City Council on an annual basis to recognise the efforts of residents, commercial organisations and public buildings to maintain and enhance the appearance of their gardens, estates, and public areas and add to biodiversity in the city.

This past year has seen an even greater appreciation for outdoor spaces and the quality of entries certainly reflected this.

Tiarnan McCusker, Environmental Awareness Officer for the council said “Gardeners were asked to enhance their gardens and green spaces for wildlife and pollinating bees, birds and insects.”

“Well done to all the 2021 entrants, they certainly have done this and created a little bit of magic in their corners of Galway City.”

Full List of Winners

  • Less than 50 Houses Winner – Oaklands Residents Association
  • 50-200 Houses Winner – Fort Lorenzo
  • 200 Houses or more Winner – Highfield Park Residents Association
  • Apartments Winner – Maria Kim Brown
  • Community Group Project – Merlin Neighbourhood Residents
  • Schools Best Garden – Scoil Chroí Íosa
  • Schools Best Floral Display – St. Patricks National School
  • Eco School Garden – Cuan na Gaillimhe CNS- Steiner
  • Eco Front Garden – Aideen Ward
  • Eco Estate- Woodfield Residents Association
  • Garages/Filling Stations – Western Motors
  • Best Commercial/retail- Bank of Ireland, Eyre Square
  • Best Church/Place of worship- St. James Church, Bushy Park
  • Industial Estates and Premises- Brian Spellman
  • Best window boxes/ floral display – Betty O’Flaherty
  • Overall Front Garden Winner – Pat McPhilbin
  • Best Lawn – John Connaughton
  • Registered Guest House B&B – Teach na Coiribe
  • Best New Entrant – Margaret Pearl Hession

Residential Area Winners:

  • Bushypark/Dangan/Circular Road: Area 1st  –Michael Duffy; Area 2nd –Ann Dillon, Area 3rd –Tina McHugh
  • Castlegar/ Menlo: Area 1st  – Mary Boyle ; Area 2nd – Maureen Spellman
  • Headford Road: Area 1st – Michael Grealish; Area 2nd – Mary and Sean Hynes
  • City Centre/ Bohermore: Area 1st – Nicholas and Brid Burke; Area 2nd – Tom and Phyllis Broderick; Area 3rd – Betty O’Flaherty
  • Mervue: Area 1st  –  Pat McPhilbin; Area 2nd – John Connaughton; Area 3rd – Seamus King
  • Renmore/ Murrough: Area 1st –Margaret Pearl Hession ; Area 2nd – Patricia Ryan; Area 3rd –Maureen Nolan
  • Salthill: Area 1st  – Annamarie O’Brien, Area 2nd– Gerry Murray; Area 3rd –Carmel Mahoney
  • Knocknacarra – Area 1st Tracy Boland–; Area 2nd– Aideen Ward; Area 3rd – Grainne Burke
  • Taylor’s Hill – Area 1st Anne Quinn-; Area 2nd–  Frank McHugh; Area 3rd – James Boland
  • Shantalla – Area 1st – Ursula and Kevin Lally; Area 2nd– Kevin Rice
  • Newcastle – Area 1st– Eileen Fair; Area 2nd –Margaret Gouyet; Area 3rd – Conor Grennan
  • Ballybane – Area 1st–Bernie Molloy; Area 2nd –Rachel Lynch; Area 3rd –Noel and Mary Boyle
  • Claddagh – Area 1st–  Nichola Dalrymple; Area 2nd – Noel Coyne; Area 3rd – Richard Burke
  • Rahoon – Area 1st – Judith O’Lochlann; Area 2nd –Alan Sixsmith; Area 3rd – Elaine Naughton