First governing body appointed for Atlantic Technological University

Galway daily news Free GMIT food entrepreneurship course course returns

The first governing body of the new Atlantic Technological University (ATU) has been appointed today.

It follows the granting of technological university status to GMIT, Sligo IT and Letterkenny IT, which will all cease to exist from 1 April.

Maura McNally, Chair of the Bar Council of Ireland, has been appointed as the chair of the first governing body of the ATU.

Welcoming the appointment, Minister for Higher Education Simon Harris said that Ms McNally brings “a vast and invaluable wealth of experience to the role which will be crucial in steering the new Technological University through its formation.”

“She will be ably assisted by colleagues Ms Oonagh Monaghan, founder and Managing Director of Alpha Omega Consultants Ltd and Felim McNeela, founder of Avenue Mould Solutions, as external members of the governing body, along with Ms Anne McHugh, Chief Executive of Donegal ETB, who is the nominee of all three Education and Training Boards in whose areas the TU multi-campuses are located,” he said.

The first governing body will establish and implement the election and appointment procedures to fill the remaining posts on the governing body from cohorts including undergraduate and postgraduate students, academic and non-academic staff as well as a number of additional external members.

The appointments were made following an open competition process operated by the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science.