‘Lying under Oath’ not acceptable say Galway TDs calling for perjury law

Galway Daily courts

Three Galway TDs are part of a Regional Group seeking to have a new law penalising perjury, lying under oath to be passed urgently by Dáil Éireann.

Galway TDs Seán Canney, Denis Naughten, and Noel Grealish are among a group of TDs who says that fresh legislation against lying under oath for personal gain is needed to combat rising insurance costs.

The Regional Group, which consists of nine TDs in total, have submitted a motion to be debated in Dáil Éireann to reinstate the Perjury and Related Offences Bill 2018 to Committee stage next week.

“As soon as the committees are established, we ask our colleagues to pass this much needed legislation so that it can be swiftly signed into law.

“It sends a signal to all that lying under oath for personal gain is no longer acceptable,” a joint statement from the group said.

“Placing perjury on the statute books is not just about penalising those who commit perjury, it is about preventing those from doing it in the first place.”

“Tough sanctions may make someone think twice about lying and diverting the course of justice.”

“This Bill initiated by former Independent Senator Pádraig Ó Céidigh received cross party support when it passed in the Seanad.”

“The Government have included it in the current Programme for Government. Now is the time to action these commitments.”

“The Regional Group members highlight the need to pass this Bill without any further delay, the financial consequences of perjury and fraudulent claims can be devastating to people’s lives and businesses. In some cases, resulting in people losing their livelihoods.”

The nine TDs involved are Cathal Berry (Kildare South); Sean Canney (Galway East); Peter Fitzpatrick (Louth); Noel Grealish (Galway West); Michael Lowry (Tipperary); Verona Murphy (Wexford); Denis Naughten (Roscommon-Galway); Matt Shanahan (Waterford) and Peadar Tóibín (Meath West).