Councillor Ollie Crowe elected to Seanad seat

Gal;way Daily news Councillor Ollie Crowe elected to Seanad seat

Fianna Fáil City Councillor Ollie Crowe has been elected to the Seanad as counting enters its final stretch.

Crowe was deemed elected the Seanad Industrial and Commercial Panel last night on the 26th count with 114,000 votes.

Cllr Crowe said on twitter that he is “honoured and humbled” to have been elected.

“To those who gave me their support, I thank you sincerely. I will work as hard as I possibly can in Seanad Éireann to make you proud of your vote”.

The campaign for this election was “surreal” for taking place the same time as the Covid-19 crisis.

He added that his thoughts remain with all those on the front line, and that he looks forward to working with the FF parliamentary party to ensure all necessary supports are in place for them.

Crowe is the second city councillor to take a seat in the coming Seanad after the election of Green Party Councillor Pauline O’Reilly to the Labour panel.

Also returned to the Labour panel was outgoing Senator Gerard Craughwell, while the NUI Panel saw Ronan Mullen and Alice Mary Higgins of Galway chosen.

Other Galway candidates who have been elected include outgoing TDs Seán Kyne and Eugene Murphy.

Counting for the Seanad election is expected to be completed today, with just the Administrative panel remaining.

However the Seanad will not be able to begin work until a new government is formed, as Leo Varadkar cannot appoint the Taoiseach’s candidates while only in a caretaker role.