Oscar winning An Irish Goodbye star wins Outstanding Newcomer at RTS Ireland Television Awards in Galway

Winners announced at prestigious RTS Ireland Television Awards in Galway

The winners of the RTS Ireland Television Awards were announced at a special event in Galway City this week.

The awards were held at the Galmont Hotel in Galway on Tuesday, hosted by Caitlín Nic Aoidh and Cormac Ó hEadhra, with special guests Bláth na hÓige and Mick Flannery & Susan O’ Neill.

A range of small screen stars gathered to celebrate excellence in Irish Television over the last year, with the juries considering over 130 entries from across the industry.

Speaking at the announcement of this year’s winners, Agnes Cogan, Chairperson of RTS Ireland said that, “tonight‘s Gradaim RTS were once again the opportunity to gather together professionals in the Industry to celebrate the breadth of talent in the TV sector here in Ireland.”

“The RTS is delighted to host the awards in Galway, a thriving hub for the TV and Media Industry. Heartiest congratulations to the nominees and tonight‘s winners for their excellent work.”

“Our thanks and appreciation to the Broadcasters and sponsors for their support, and to the jurors who gave so generously of their valuable time.”

As well as the category awards, the RTS Ireland committee presented an Outstanding Newcomer Award in recognition of emerging screen talent who have made an impact on audiences this year.

The award went to James Martin, who has made his mark on both Irish and international audiences with his roles as Danny Armstrong in Netflix / ITV series Marcella, and his portrayal of Lorcan in the Oscar Winning best Short Film An Irish Goodbye.

The full list of winners from Tuesday night’s awards is:

DRÁMAÍOCHT / DRAMA | with thanks to Screen Ireland (Fís Éireann)

WINNER Redemption, Metropolitan Films, Tall Story Pictures (Virgin Media)

Doineann, DoubleBand Films (TG4, BBC Gaeilge)

Every Five Miles, Vico Films (RTÉ)

Holding, Happy Prince, Port Pictures (Virgin Media Television)

Smother, Treasure Entertainment (RTÉ)

SRAITH FHÍORASACH / FACTUAL SERIES | with thanks to Egg Post Production

WINNER: Crimes and Confessions (RTÉ)

Cois Móire, Cormorant Films (TG4)

An Diabhal Inti, Lagan Media Productions (TG4, BBC Gaeilge)

Great Lighthouses of Ireland, Inproduction TV (RTÉ)


WINNER: Storybud, Kite Entertainment (RTÉ)

Blast from the PastFirebrand Productions (RTÉ)

Dizzy Deliveries, Macalla Teoranta (RTÉ)

Ireland’s Future is Mine, Tamber Media & Reverist (RTÉ)

The Imagination Machine, Firebrand Productions (RTÉ)

CLÁR FÍORASACH / FACTUAL SINGLE | with thanks to Nemeton TV

WINNER: Speechless, Firebrand Productions (RTÉ)

Cyril Cusack: Lár An Stáitse, Dearg Films (TG4)

The Ghost of Richard Harris, Bright Yellow Films, Samson Films, Groove International (Sky Arts)

Young Plato, Soilsiu Films, Aisling Productions, Clin d’Oeil Films and Zadig Productions (RTÉ, Northern Ireland)

NUACHT & CÚRSAÍ REATHA | NEWS & CURRENT AFFAIRS | with thanks to Camerakit.ie

WINNER: The Accountant, the Con, the Lies (RTÉ)

The Death of Ashling Murphy (Virgin Media News)

Eden Heaslip (RTÉ)

RTÉ Investigates: Missing Pieces (RTÉ)

Tragedy in Creeslough (Sky News)

SPÓRT / SPORT | with thanks to TVM

WINNER: Laochra Gael – Terence McNaughton, Nemeton TV (TG4)

Anton O’ Toole – Finscéal de Shaol GAA, Bankos Tales Productions (TG4)

The Connacht Way, Motherland (RTÉ)

Munster Vs South Africa A (Virgin Media Television)

Saipan – Rebel without a Ball,  (RTÉ)

AG TEACHT CHUN CINN / OUTSTANDING NEWCOMER | with thanks to Coimisiún na Meán


BEOCHAN / ANIMATION | with thanks to Windmill Lane | VFX

WINNER: The Ghastly Ghoul, Dream Logic Animation Studios and Lupus Films (RTÉ)

Boy Girl Dog Cat Mouse CheeseKavaleer Productions, Watch Next Media, Cloud Co (RTÉ)

Fia’s Fairies, Little Moon Animation (RTÉjr)

Kiva Can Do, Kavaleer Productions (RTÉ)

The Presenter, Cardel Entertainment (RTÉ)

SIAMSAÍOCHT / ENTERTAINMENT | with thanks to Piranha Bar

WINNER: Callan Kicks the Year, Wonky Chair Media, (RTÉ)

Cumasc: Seisiúin sa Black Gate, Black Gate Productions (TG4)

Dancing with the Stars, ShinAwiL (RTÉ)

Free Gaff, Green Inc Film & Television (RTÉ & RTÉ player)

The Ultimate Irish Playlist, ShinAwiL (RTÉ)


WINNER : A Note for Nature, Crossing the Line Films (RTÉ)

An Buachaill Gealgháireach, Imagine Media (TG4)

Francis Bacon, The Outsider, Mount Venus Productions (RTÉ)

Ireland’s Dirty Laundry, New Decade TV (RTÉ & ARTE)

Maeve Binchy: The Magic of the Ordinary (RTÉ)


WINNER: Gogglebox Ireland, Kite Entertainment (Virgin Media Television)

Bagatelle – Ómós do Liam Reilly, Four Quadrant Films (TG4)

Generation Dating, Coco Content (Virgin Media Television)

Lucy Investigates, ADARE Productions (Virgin Media One)

Secrets from the Showroom (RTÉ)

Originally founded in London as the Television Society in 1927, the Irish centre was launched in 1995.

The Gradaim/RTS Ireland Television Awards seek to recognise Irish productions and international co-productions which are considered by peer jury members to have made a positive contribution worthy of acclaim by the industry and Irish viewers.

RTS Awards are one of the international gold standard awards for the TV industry and an important showcase of the extraordinary talent evident across the country’s television industry.