Five Galway astrophotographers shortlisted in national competition

galway daily news astrophotography
The Milky Way over Finavarra by Gavin Sheehan, Co. Clare

Five Galway astrophotographers have been chosen for the next stage of the prestigious ‘Reach for the Stars’ astrophotography competition.

The competition is run by the run by the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies (DIAS) aims to find the best astrophotography taken in Ireland over the past year.

Sullyvan Morfoisse, from Claddaghduff, Co. Galway has been shortlisted in the ‘Out of this World’ category.

Felix Sproll from Galway City and Josh Matthews from Moyard have been shortlisted with two photographs each in the ‘Back on Earth’ category, while Aisling McGuire from Moyard and Enda O’Loughlin from Loughrea have also been shortlisted in this category.

While a high-profile judging panel will select the overall winning entries in the coming weeks, an online vote was launched today, so members of the public can also have their say.

All shortlisted images can now be viewed on the ‘Reach for the Stars’ website, where members of the public can also cast their vote for their favourite image.

Over 160 images were submitted to the competition in total this year, with 40 selected for the shortlist and public vote.

There are two categories in the competition: ‘Out of this World’ and ‘Back on Earth’. The ‘Out of this World’ category features images depicting elements of astronomical interest.

The ‘Back on Earth’ category features astro-landscape images that depict an element of astronomical interest and elements such as nature, cityscapes, land or water.

Professor Peter Gallagher of DIAS said he is delighted to return for a second year of judging for the competition.

“The standard of entries has been excellent again this year,” he said.

“It’s amazing what the photographers have been able to capture, from stars and galaxies that are millions of light years away to stunning scenery back on earth.”

Professor Gallagher said that they hope the people of Galway will get involved again this year in the public vote and cast their vote for their favourite image.

Votes for the Public Choice Award are restricted to one vote per person, and voting will close at midnight on Sunday, 3 July 2022.