Mack Hansen named in squad for All-Blacks game after injury fears

Galway Daily sport Mack Hansen named in squad for All-Blacks game after injury fears
Mack Hansen. Photo Credit: INPHO / Connacht Rugby

Mack Hansen has been cleared to play after being injured in last weekend’s match, and will be in the starting lineup for the All-Blacks showdown.

Andy Farrell has named his Irish squad for Saturday’s Quarter-Final match against New Zealand, with Hansen and James Lower both making the cut despite worries after the Scotland game.

Joining Hansen from Connacht are Bundee Aki, once again in the starting XV, and Finlay Bealham in the replacements.

After progressing through to the last eight as Pool B winners, Ireland go head-to-head with the All Blacks in Paris, with Farrell naming an unchanged starting team from last weekend’s victory.

Hugo Keenan, Mack Hansen and James Lowe continue in the back three, with Garry Ringrose and Bundee Aki retained in midfield.

Captain Johnny Sexton and Jamison Gibson-Park once again form the half-back pairing.

In the pack, Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan and Tadhg Furlong are in the front row, as Tadhg Beirne partners Iain Henderson in the engine room.

Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris complete the Ireland starting team.

On the bench, Ronan Kelleher, Dave Kilcoyne, Finlay Bealham, Joe McCarthy and Jack Conan provide the reinforcements in the pack, with Conor Murray, Jack Crowley and Jimmy O’Brien – in line for his Rugby World Cup debut – completing the match day 23.

Saturday’s Quarter-Final game will take place in Stade de France, with kick-off at 8pm Irish time. The game will be broadcast live on Virgin Media One in the Republic of Ireland and ITV1 in the United Kingdom.

Ireland Team & Replacements (v New Zealand, Rugby World Cup Quarter Final, Stade de France, Saturday, October 14, 8pm Irish Time)

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD)(35)
14. Mack Hansen (Connacht/Corinthians)(20)
13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD)(56)
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians)(51)
11. James Lowe (Leinster)(25)
10. Johnny Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) (Captain) (117)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster)(29)

1. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD)(58)
2. Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne)(20)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf)(71)
4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne)(45)
5. Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy)(78)
6. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution)(100)
7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD)(56)
8. Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College)(35)


16. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne)(25)
17. David Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians)(55)
18. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers)(35)
19. Joe McCarthy (Leinster/Dublin University)(4)
20. Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere)(40)
21. Conor Murray Munster/Garryowen)(111)
22. Jack Crowley (Munster/Cork Constitution)(9)
23. Jimmy O’Brien (Leinster/Naas)(6).