Connacht make three changes for Leinster URC fixture

Galway Daily rugby Connacht make three changes for Leinster fixture
Photo Credit: INPHO

Connacht have made three changes to their starting lineup for their URC inter-pro fixture against Leinster this evening.

Oisín Dowling, Eoghan Masterson and Peter Robb are starting this week, after all coming on from the bench against the Ospreys.

They will be taking their places in the  second row, blindside flanker and inside centre respectively, but the lineup will be otherwise unchanged.

In the back are wingers Mack Hansen and Alex Wootton, with Oran McNulty as full-back, while Robb is joined by Sammy Arnold in the centre.

Matthew Burke, Dave Heffernan and Finlay Bealham will make up the front row for the fifth game running, while Ultan Dillane partners Dowling in the second row.

Masterson’s inclusion means Jarrad Butler moves to number 8 while Conor Oliver completes the line-up from openside.

The replacements include Cian Prendergast and Tom Farrell who both return to the matchday 23 having recovered from injuries.

Head Coach Andy Friend said, “Last week was pleasing not just to pick up 5 points but to continue our recent level of performances, even with a substantial break in the middle.”

“The challenge for all of us now is to raise our game even more, away to one of the best sides in Europe.”

“We’ll take confidence from our win at the RDS last January, and our travelling supporters will be a big help as always. This game will tell a lot about where we are right now so we’re really looking forward to it.”

Connacht and Leinster Rugby will play at the RDS Arena on Friday, with kick-off at 7:45pm.

The full Connacht squad for the game is:

15. Oran McNulty (3)
14. Alex Wootton (23)
13. Sammy Arnold (21)
12. Peter Robb (48)
11. Mack Hansen (6)
10. Jack Carty (165) (C)
9. Kieran Marmion (192)
1. Matthew Burke (29)
2. Dave Heffernan (150)
3. Finlay Bealham (165)
4. Oisín Dowling (12)
5. Ultan Dillane (120)
6. Eoghan Masterson (114)
7. Conor Oliver (26)
8. Jarrad Butler (79)

16. Shane Delahunt (106)
17. Jordan Duggan (18)
18. Jack Aungier (19)
19. Leva Fifita (2)
20. Cian Prendergast (14)
21. Caolin Blade (136)
22. Conor Fitzgerald (40)
23. Tom Farrell (65)