Connacht aim for five in a row with home game against Edinburgh

Galway Daily rugby The Sportsground to be renamed Dexcom Stadium in partnership deal
Photo: INPHO/Connacht Rugby

Five changes have been made to the starting lineup for Connacht in this weekend’s home game against Edinburgh.

Connacht are trying to keep a hot streak going, after Andy Friend’s side have so far achieved four straight wins in the BKT United Rugby Championship.

Director of Rugby Andy Friend said that Saturday marks the start of a “massive block of games” for Connacht.

“We’re where we want at this stage of the season, with our destiny in our own hands knowing if we keep winning games then we reach playoff rugby.”

There are three changes in the pack with Peter Dooley, Oisín Dowling and Jarrad Butler coming in, while there are starts for Diarmuid Kilgallen and Oran McNulty in the backs.

Dylan Tierney-Martin and Jack Aungier are alongside Dooley in the front row, while Dowling has Niall Murray for company in the second row. The pack is completed by flankers Cian Prendergast and Conor Oliver.

Caolin Blade again captains the side from scrum-half with David Hawkshaw alongside him, while for the fourth straight game the centre pairing is Cathal Forde and Tom Farrell. John Porch completes the side on the left wing.

Friend spoke positively about the good feeling their current winning streak has brought, and the positivity of having the home crowd on Saturday.

“We’ve won 4 in a row in the URC so there’s a real sense of momentum within the group, and with a massive crowd behind us at The Sportsground we’ll do everything to keep that run going.”

Saturday 25th March, 15:00 @ The Sportsground


15. Oran McNulty (13)
14. Diarmuid Kilgallen (14)
13. Tom Farrell (93)
12. Cathal Forde (10)
11. John Porch (75)
10. David Hawkshaw (12)
9. Caolin Blade (164)
1. Peter Dooley (14)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (18)
3. Jack Aungier (46)
4. Oisín Dowling (38)
5. Niall Murray (50)
6. Cian Prendergast (41)
7. Conor Oliver (57)
8. Jarrad Butler (110)

16. Dave Heffernan (178)
17. Jordan Duggan (36)
18. Dominic Robertson-McCoy (77)
19. Darragh Murray (7)
20. Shamus Hurley-Langton (14)
21. Kieran Marmion (224)
22. Tom Daly (73)
23. Shane Jennings (1)