Carty and Bealham back in action for Cardiff game at the Sportsground

Galway Daily sport Carty and Bealham back in action for Cardiff game at the Sportsground

Connacht Rugby have named their matchday squad for this weekend’s URC game against Cardiff at home.

Connacht will face off against the Welsh side this Saturday at the Sportsground, with kick-off at 7:35pm Irish time.

Andy Friend said that there’s a great deal of excitement surrounding this weekend’s clash, and that everyone is focused on achieving a good outcome.

“There’s a great buzz around the place this week. We’re all very aware of the importance of tomorrow’s game, and we’re really focussed on ensuring we’re at our best from minute one to the final whistle.”

There’s a bevy of players back from injuries this week, including Captain Jack Carty and Irish international Finlay Bealham, with six total slotting into the starting XV.

Carty has missed the last 3 games with a hamstring issue, while Bealham hasn’t played since a knee injury sustained in Round 3 of the Guinness Six Nations.

Also back in play are Denis Buckley, Jarrad Butler, Josh Murphy and Diarmuid Kilgallen after overcoming injuries.

The seventh and final change from the side that lost to Benetton is the inclusion of Dylan Tierney-Martin, with Eoin de Buitléar named among the replacements.

“Having six men back from injury for this game is a huge boost for us, and it also means that we’ve had make a number of really difficult selection decisions and some quality players are missing out.”

“As much as that’s a headache, its a brilliant place to be at this time of year,” Andy Friend commented ahead of the game.

“With a big home crowd expected and with their energy behind us, we’ll be doing everything in our power to get us closer to that playoff spot”

Eight players who are departing from Connacht will be presented for the crowd at the end of the game.

Saturday 15th April, 19:35 Irish time @ The Sportsground


15. Tiernan O’Halloran (218)
14. Diarmuid Kilgallen (15)
13. Tom Farrell (95)
12. Bundee Aki (124)
11. Mack Hansen (25)
10. Jack Carty (191) (C)
9. Caolin Blade (166)
1. Denis Buckley (224)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (20)
3. Finlay Bealham (185)
4. Josh Murphy (14)
5. Niall Murray (52)
6. Cian Prendergast (43)
7. Conor Oliver (59)
8. Jarrad Butler (111)

16. Eoin de Buitléar (1)
17. Peter Dooley (16)
18. Dominic Robertson-McCoy (78)
19. Oisín Dowling (40)
20. Shamus Hurley-Langton (16)
21. Kieran Marmion (226)
22. Tom Daly (74)
23. Shane Jennings (3)