LGFA: History Making Galway Deliver Another All-Ireland

Galway u16 LGFA

All-Ireland under 16 Ladies Football Final – Wednesday, 25th July 2018 

Galway 3-16 Kerry 3-12 AET 

Darren Kelly in Toomevara 

(Report: courtesy – Ladies Football Association) 

In another amazing decider showcasing all the excitement of ladies football, Galway won a rollercoaster decider to take their second All-Ireland title win of 2018.

It was also the first time that the Tribesgirls won back-to-back under 16 crowns but that only began to tell the story of an encounter that was the pendulum swing to the extreme throughout the 80 minutes.

Galway were six points ahead thanks to two Aoife O’Rourke goals inside four minutes, Kerry were six clear at half-time thanks to a Siofra O’Shea hat-trick before six unanswered points for the Connacht champions forced extra time.

(for full report, CLICK HERE to see ladiesgaelic.ie) 


Galway – Kate Slevin 1-7 (three frees), Aoife O’Rourke 2-0, Niamh McPeake 0-4, Shauna Brennan 0-2, Laura Kelly 0-1 (free), Eva Noone 0-1, Ellen Power 0-1 

Kerry – Siofra O’Shea 3-6 (0-6f, 1-0 pen), Rachel Dwyer 0-1, Mary O’Connell 0-1, Rachel Kilgallen 0-1, Ella Teahan 0-1, Clodagh Evans 0-1, Mary Collins 0-1 

Galway: Ava Murray; Louise Coen, Megan Walsh, Samantha Fahy; Sophie Healy, Emma Madden, Chellene Trill; Therese Kinnevey, Hannah Noone; Niamh McPeake, Laura Kelly, Shauna Brennan; Eva Noone, Aoife O’Rourke, Kate Slevin.  Subs used: Ciara Murray for Walsh (25 mins), Ellen Power for Healy (40 mins), Lucy Hynes for O’Rourke (70 mins).

Kerry: Ciara Butler; Maud Kelly, Rachel O’Connor, Ava Doherty; Gemma Kearney, Rachel Dwyer, Aoife Dillane; Mary O’Connell, Aisling O’Connell; Rachel Kilgallen, Danielle O’Leary, Ella Teahan; Clodagh Evans, Siofra O’Shea, Mary Collins.  Subs used: Ciara McCarthy for Collins (49 mins), Chloe O’Connor for Kelly (56 mins), Ciara Fitzgerald for A. O’Connell (60 mins).

Referee: Des McEnery (Westmeath)